Arts in the Schools

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2012 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
New London-Spicer High School
Recipient Type
K-12 Education
Start Date
July 2011
End Date
June 2012
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2011, First Special Session, chapter 6, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Education

2012 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

Our artistic goals are to introduce students to the oriental culture through art and to help them understand that art has an impact in our culture and on each student individually.This experience will encourage an understanding of other cultures, specifically how the history of religion, art and tea are interrelated shaping the values of the orient. Students will also gain experience in the art community and learn how art has an impact on their day to day life.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Students completed the Rubric and Exit reports as mentioned in the grant proposal. All goals were evaluated through written and verbal communication. One student has decided to pursue a ceramics career in college, because of the time she spent with Craig.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Hollie Cogelow Ruter, Dan DeGeest, Naomi Johnson, David Kilpatrick, Helena Lungstrom, Robet Maller, Renee Nolting
Project Overview
Craig Edwards/Leona Rock Residency
Project Details
Craig Edwards/Leona Rock Residency.
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
New London-Spicer High School
Street Address
101 4th Ave SW
New London
Zip Code
(320) 354-2252
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Roberta Trooien: musician, author, professor of composition and literature, choir director; Kurt Schulz: actor, writer, cofounder of the 4 Shadow Theatre Company, board member at Magnolia Musical Theatre Company; Mary Kay Frisvold: actor, musician, member of Prairie Arts Chorale, church choir, and Tracy and Marshall community bands; Jean Replinger: emeritus professor of health and physical education at Southwest Minnesota State University, musician, editor, board member for Marshall Area Fine Arts Council; Verna Patrick: retired music educator, member of the Willmar Area Symphony Orchestra and Pens and Brushes writing club; Linda Neugebauer: music educator, member of the Grassroots Theatre; Mary Jane Mardesen: author, theater director, speech/theater/English instructor at Minnesota West Community and Technical College.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Deb Larson: artist, project manager for Art Meander, Vice President of Big Stone Arts Council; Paul Grupe: instrumental and vocal teacher at Jackson County Schools, theater/musical director at Jackson County Arts Guilds; Jane Link: artist, board member at Milan Village Arts School and the Greater Milan Initiative; Marilee Strom: former K-12 art teacher, co owner of First Floral-Hallmark, hand bell choir member; Connie Feig: board member at the Willmar Area Arts Council and Minnesota Gerontological Society; Paula Nemes: Vice President of the Marshall Area Stage Company, musician, community theater participant, Lyon County arts organizations activist; Kurt Schulz: actor, writer, cofounder of the 4 Shadow Theatre Company, board member at Magnolia Musical Theatre Company; Susan Marco: author, English and creative writing teacher at Dassel-Cokato High School, Fine Arts Committee member at Dassel-Cokato Public Schools; Kelly Muldoon: graphic artist, board member at the Prairie Music Association and the Prairie Oasis Players; Ellen Copperud: retired teacher of language arts, literary arts activist, coach, and event organizer, board member at the Historic Dayton House, liberal arts advisory board member at Minnesota West Community College; Dan Wahl: visual artist, musician, author, community theater participant, adjunct instructor of English at Southwest Minnesota State University, art instructor for the Marshall Area Fine Arts Council; Tamara Isfeld: visual artist, art teacher for Renville County West Schools, planning committee member for Meander - Upper Minnesota River Valley Art Crawl, board member at Granite Arts Council and Renville Friends of the Arts; Cindy Reverts: visual artist, Treasurer of Rock County Fine Arts Association, board member of Council for Arts in Humanities in Rock County, planning committee member for Art Rocks in Luverne, owner of Playing in the Mud Studio, arts festival organizer; Sydney Massee: artist, quilter, theatre assistant, community organization activist, board member for Lac qui Parle Valley Schools; Patricia Enger: visual artist, musician, gallery technician and curator for the William Whipple Gallery at Southwest Minnesota State University, exhibit curator for Fallen Angel Gallery; Randy Meyer: artist, farmer, art teacher for local and home schools, treasurer for the First Lutheran Church, board member for Lac qui Parle Mutual Insurance Company; Kate Aydin: Spanish instructor for 25 years, board member for the Lincoln County Pioneer Museum and Hendricks Community Foundation and Norwegian Heritage Committee.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed