Arts in the Schools

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2012 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Prairie Elementary
Recipient Type
K-12 Education
Start Date
February 2012
End Date
February 2012
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2011, First Special Session, chapter 6, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Cultural Heritage

2012 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

The goal of this residency will be meet when the involved students are able to demonstrate a working understanding of American Indian dance and its history through classroom knowledge and physical education activities. Another goal is to foster greater understanding and respect for American Indian culture. The residency ties into curriculum by connecting the relationship to American Indian studies in music, dance, art and social studies. Arts graduation standards will be addressed through movement vernacular that will include: Native American pow wow, fancy dance, buffalo, eagle, and round dance.To evaluate the impact of this residency, evaluations will be distributed to students involved, to parents and community members who have elected to observe the residency and community performance, to classroom teachers of students involved, CAPP committee members and ISD 518 administrative personnel. The evaluations/surveys will contain questions related to knowledge of the subject, student's attitude and overall impressions of the residency.

Measurable Outcome(s)

The students demonstrated their knowledge of dance steps taught individually and in groups as directed by the artists. Many students and teachers indicated an interest in having the artist return for another residency and 95% stated they learned something

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Brad Shaffer, Linden Olson, Lori Dudley, Steve Schneider, Joel Lorenz, Mark Shepherd, Scott Rosenberg
Project Overview
Native American Traditions Residency
Project Details
Native American Traditions Residency.
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Prairie Elementary
Street Address
1700 1st Ave SW
Zip Code
(507) 727-1250
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Roberta Trooien: musician, author, professor of composition and literature, choir director; Kurt Schulz: actor, writer, cofounder of the 4 Shadow Theatre Company, board member at Magnolia Musical Theatre Company; Mary Kay Frisvold: actor, musician, member of Prairie Arts Chorale, church choir, and Tracy and Marshall community bands; Jean Replinger: emeritus professor of health and physical education at Southwest Minnesota State University, musician, editor, board member for Marshall Area Fine Arts Council; Verna Patrick: retired music educator, member of the Willmar Area Symphony Orchestra and Pens and Brushes writing club; Linda Neugebauer: music educator, member of the Grassroots Theatre; Mary Jane Mardesen: author, theater director, speech/theater/English instructor at Minnesota West Community and Technical College.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Deb Larson: artist, project manager for Art Meander, Vice President of Big Stone Arts Council; Paul Grupe: instrumental and vocal teacher at Jackson County Schools, theater/musical director at Jackson County Arts Guilds; Jane Link: artist, board member at Milan Village Arts School and the Greater Milan Initiative; Marilee Strom: former K-12 art teacher, co owner of First Floral-Hallmark, hand bell choir member; Connie Feig: board member at the Willmar Area Arts Council and Minnesota Gerontological Society; Paula Nemes: Vice President of the Marshall Area Stage Company, musician, community theater participant, Lyon County arts organizations activist; Kurt Schulz: actor, writer, cofounder of the 4 Shadow Theatre Company, board member at Magnolia Musical Theatre Company; Susan Marco: author, English and creative writing teacher at Dassel-Cokato High School, Fine Arts Committee member at Dassel-Cokato Public Schools; Kelly Muldoon: graphic artist, board member at the Prairie Music Association and the Prairie Oasis Players; Ellen Copperud: retired teacher of language arts, literary arts activist, coach, and event organizer, board member at the Historic Dayton House, liberal arts advisory board member at Minnesota West Community College; Dan Wahl: visual artist, musician, author, community theater participant, adjunct instructor of English at Southwest Minnesota State University, art instructor for the Marshall Area Fine Arts Council; Tamara Isfeld: visual artist, art teacher for Renville County West Schools, planning committee member for Meander - Upper Minnesota River Valley Art Crawl, board member at Granite Arts Council and Renville Friends of the Arts; Cindy Reverts: visual artist, Treasurer of Rock County Fine Arts Association, board member of Council for Arts in Humanities in Rock County, planning committee member for Art Rocks in Luverne, owner of Playing in the Mud Studio, arts festival organizer; Sydney Massee: artist, quilter, theatre assistant, community organization activist, board member for Lac qui Parle Valley Schools; Patricia Enger: visual artist, musician, gallery technician and curator for the William Whipple Gallery at Southwest Minnesota State University, exhibit curator for Fallen Angel Gallery; Randy Meyer: artist, farmer, art teacher for local and home schools, treasurer for the First Lutheran Church, board member for Lac qui Parle Mutual Insurance Company; Kate Aydin: Spanish instructor for 25 years, board member for the Lincoln County Pioneer Museum and Hendricks Community Foundation and Norwegian Heritage Committee.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed