Minnesota's Legacy

Arts Learning

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2019 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Achieve Language Academy
Recipient Type
K-12 Education
In Progress
Start Date
September 2018
End Date
August 2019
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2017 Regular Session, chapter 91, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Education

2019 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

All 7th and 8th grade students learn music composition and arranging skills by creating and performing their own original music. We will use teacher and Teaching Artist written observations, comparative analysis of formative vs. summative student surveys, and final concert observations to measure skills gained during the year. 2: All 7th and 8th grade students learn peer-to-peer problem solving techniques and apply them in chamber music group rehearsals. We will track this learning by comparing formative and summative student evaluation surveys and correlating sequential classroom observations made by Teachers and Teaching Artists.

Source of Additional Funds

Other,local or private

Project Overview

Arts Learning

Project Details

Achieve Language Academy will collaborate with Copper Street Brass to foster communication and collaboration using chamber music. All seventh and eighth grade students will perform music they create together throughout the year.

Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Achieve Language Academy
Street Address
2169 Stillwater Ave
St Paul
Zip Code
(651) 738-4875x 318
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications

Peggy Burnet: Businesswoman, art collector, and community volunteer. Chair of the Nominating Committee, Smithsonian National Board. Trustee, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Uri Camarena: Business consultant, Metropolitan Economic Development Association. Board chair, Minneapolis College of Art and Design. Officer at-large, Minnesota State Arts Board; Michael Charron: Dean of the School of the Arts, Saint Mary's University of Minnesota. Secretary/Treasurer, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Sean Dowse: Mayor of Red Wing, elected 2016. Former executive director, Sheldon Theatre. Board member for Minnesota Citizens for the Arts. Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Philip McKenzie, Oboe and English horn player; adjunct oboe faculty, NDSU; Mary McReynolds-Pellinen: Executive director, Lyric Center for the Arts; coordinator, First Stage Gallery; Dobson West: Senior advisor, Spell Capital Partners Fund.; Christina Widdess: Arts organization consultant; former managing director, Penumbra Theatre. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.

Advisory Group Members and Qualifications

Carl Beihl: Artist in photography, ceramics, painting; instructor, Minnetonka Center for the Arts; David DeGennaro: Former managing and creative director, West Bank School of Music; Nathaniel Dickey: Associate Professor of Music; low brass, band; Connie Lanphear: Communications manager, Freshwater Society; James Miller: Founder and managing director, Velo Glass; Akiko Ostlund: Dancer, performing artist, poet, puppeteer, curator, and activist; Sharon Thalmann: Former executive director, Henning Landmark Center; theater actor, producer, designer and director

Conflict of Interest Disclosed