Arts Learning

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2018 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Prairie Creek Community School
Recipient Type
K-12 Education
In Progress
Start Date
November 2017
End Date
August 2018
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2017 Regular Session, chapter 91, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Education

2018 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

Students acquire demonstrable skills in multiple creative processes, creating poetry and art and then binding their work into a finished book. Our teachers write narrative assessments of the transformative effects of the process, and students will complete both narrative assessments and more quantitative-style surveys of their experience.

Source of Additional Funds

Other,local or private

Project Overview

Arts Learning

Project Details

K-5 students will collaborate with poets, artists, and bookmakers, to document their original stories by engaging in a multimodal process. Students become authors and illustrators, creating a striking object celebrating their images and words.

Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Prairie Creek Community School
Street Address
27695 Denmark Ave
Zip Code
(507) 645-9640
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications

Ardell Brede: Mayor of Rochester, elected 2002; Peggy Burnet: Businesswoman, art collector, and community volunteer. Member of the Smithsonian National Board. Former chair of the board, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden. Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Uri Camarena: Business consultant, Metropolitan Economic Development Association. Board chair, Minneapolis College of Art and Design.; Michael Charron: Dean of the School of the Arts, Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota. Officer at -Large, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Rebecca Davis-Lee: Touring pianist, piano and music theory teacher. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Sean Dowse, Mayor of Red Wing, elected 2016. Former executive director, Sheldon Theatre. Board member for Minnesota Citizens for the Arts. Secretary/Treasurer, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Thomas Moss: Consultant to nonprofits and government agencies.; Dobson West: Senior advisor, Spell Capital Partners Fund; Christina Widdess: Arts organization consultant; former managing director, Penumbra Theatre. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.

Advisory Group Members and Qualifications

Jeffrey Bleam: Chair, department of theater and film studies, Saint Cloud State University; Heather Casper: Curator of education, Minnesota Marine Art Museum; David DeGennaro: Managing and creative director, West Bank School of Music; Prachee Mukherjee: Director of assessment, research and evaluation for St. Louis Park Public Schools; Adrienne Sweeney: Associate artistic director and director of external communications, Commonweal Theatre Company

Conflict of Interest Disclosed