Arts Learning

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Austin Area Commission for the Arts AKA Historic Paramount Theatre
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
In Progress
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2015 Special Session, chapter 2, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Education

2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

Youth ages 7-11 in STEAM of Puppetry labs will expand their knowledge and skills of how to design, engineer and make puppets. All participants will report observations and discoveries from their puppet-making on lab worksheets. A sample of participants will also respond to the creative process in photo interviews. 2: Youth and adults at Z Puppets performances will gain insight into how puppetry can powerfully explore and express multiple layers of STEAM. Youth and adults will respond to the public and school matinee performances, post-show Q and A and STEAM of Puppetry lobby exhibit via written surveys about the interconnections between art and science.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Project Overview
Arts Learning
Project Details
Austin Area Commission for the Arts (AACA) will present Z Puppets’ STEAM of Puppetry workshops and performances at 3 community sites to increase access to arts programming for Mower County youth.
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Austin Area Commission for the Arts AKA Historic Paramount Theatre
Street Address
300 Main St N
Zip Code
(507) 434-0934
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Ardell Brede: Mayor of Rochester, elected 2002.; Peggy Burnet: Businesswoman, art collector, and community volunteer. Member of the Smithsonian National Board. Former chair of the board, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden. Officer at Large, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Uri Camarena: Business consultant, Metropolitan Economic Development Association. Board chair, Minneapolis College of Art and Design.; Michael Charron: Dean of the School of the Arts, Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Rebecca Davis-Lee: Touring pianist, piano and music theory teacher. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Sean Dowse, Former executive director, Sheldon Theatre. Board member for Minnesota Citizens for the Arts. Secretary/Treasurer, Minnesota State Arts Board.; David Glenn: Ceramic artist. former executive director of the Minnesota Project.; Thomas Moss: Consultant to nonprofits and government agencies. Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board; Janice Sivertson: Gallery owner and visual artist; Dobson West: Senior advisor, Spell Capital Partners Fund; Christina Widdess: Arts organization consultant; former managing director, Penumbra Theatre
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Maya Beecham: Strategy and learning coordinator, Bush Foundation; visual and spoken word artist; freelance writer; Kristina Bigalk: Poet; director of creative writing, Normandale Community College; Sam Hoolihan: Visual artist and teacher; Nancy Miller: Sculptor, teacher, curator; Gregory Neidhart: Director of Winona State University arts administration program, chair of art and design department, music faculty; Peter Spooner: Former curator, Tweed Museum of Art, University of Minnesota Duluth; William Wiktor: Retired engineer and software developer; Rochester community arts and non-profit volunteer
Conflict of Interest Disclosed
Conflict of Interest Contact
Executive director Sue Gens (651) 215-1600