Arts Learning

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2014 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Luverne G. Seifert
Recipient Type
Start Date
November 2013
End Date
October 2014
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Blue Earth
Red Lake
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2013, Chapter 137, Article 4, Section 2, Subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Education

2014 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

Three, ten-day theater arts learning opportunities will be conducted in Blue Earth, Crookston, and Spring Grove that otherwise would not be available. The quantity, duration and location of residencies will be measured, recorded, and included in the final report. 2: Professional actors who are experienced teaching artists will travel to three greater Minnesota towns to teach, rehearse, and perform alongside community actors, addressing geographic barriers. The number of teaching artists who travel to greater Minnesota communities will be measured.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Luverne Seifert and a team of six professional artists completed 3, ten day arts learning residencies in the communities of Blue Earth, Crookston and Lake Benton. 2: By providing funding to Luverne Seifert and six teaching/collaborators, arts learning opportunities were provided to communities that don't have access to professional theater trainers/performers.

Project Overview

Arts Learning

Project Details

The Peer Gynt Project is a unique residency project in which 90-120 actors in three greater Minnesota towns will learn and apply newly acquired skills in performance, alongside professional actors who have performed on such notable stages as The Guthrie, Children’s Theatre, Ten Thousand Things, and Theatre de la Jeune Lune.

Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Luverne G. Seifert
(612) 414-2032
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications

Ardell Brede: Mayor of Rochester, elected 2002.; Peggy Burnet: Businesswoman, art collector, and community volunteer. Chair of the Nominating Committee, Smithsonian National Board. Trustee, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Michael Charron: Dean of the School of the Arts, Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Wendy Dayton: Arts and community leader and philanthopist.; Sean Dowse: Executive director, Sheldon Theatre. Board member for Minnesota Music Coalition, Minnesota Citizens for the Arts, and Anderson Center for Interdisciplinary Studies.; David Glenn, Executive director of the Minnesota Project, ceramic artist; Benjamin Klipfel: Board member, Minnesota State Arts Board. Executive Director, Alexandria Area Arts Association, Inc. Director and arts educator.; Ellen McInnis: Director of Twin Cities government relations, Wells Fargo. Member of Bottineau Boulevard Partnership. Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Thomas Moss: Consultant to nonprofits and government agencies; Janice Sivertson: Gallery owner and visual artist; Anton Treuer: Professor of Ojibwe, Bemidji State University.

Advisory Group Members and Qualifications

Agnes Alsgaard-Lien: Visual artist and art instructor; Kristina Clark: Independent museum exhibit developer; Kathleen Corrigan: Breck Middle School and Upper School Arts Specialist; Amy Giddings: Music specialist, North Shore Community School, Duluth; Alison Good: Former commercial artist, educator and administrator; active community volunteer; Narate Keys: Poet, songwriter, and program development specialist for the City of Apple Valley Teen Center; Jill Nysse: Library media specialist, Winona Area Public Schools; Janet Skidmore: Independent artist and performer

Conflict of Interest Disclosed