Arts Learning

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2014 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
MacPhail Center for Music
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
November 2013
End Date
October 2014
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2013, Chapter 137, Article 4, Section 2, Subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Education

2014 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

The MacPhail-Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg partnership will add three new opportunities for residents in greater Minnesota to create, perform, and respond to music. Students ages three years - adult will create, perform, and respond to music in early childhood music classes; interdisciplinary music and instrumental residencies; and lessons. The number of MacPhail-Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg music offerings will grow from one to four. 2: Residents of five counties in southwest Minnesota will have access to exceptional music learning online through quality video conferencing. Students from Pope, Stearns, Chippewa, Kandiyohi and Swift county students will participate in online music learning and 90% will be highly satisfied with the student-teacher experience. Goals defined by community leaders will be met.

Measurable Outcome(s)

The number of MacPhail-KMS music learning offerings grew from 1 to 4: OSP, early childhood music, live online lessons and interdisciplinary classes. 2: MacPhail achieved its goal of 90% satisfaction with the student-teacher experience online.

Source of Additional Funds


Recipient Board Members
Thomas Abood, Jane Alexander, Aaron Alt, Barry Berg, Sally Blanks, Mark Borman, Margee Bracken, Ellen Breyer, Walter Broughton, Roma Calatayud-Stocks, Composer, Kate Cimino, Thomas Clark, Joaquin Delgado, Leslie Frecon, Rahoul Ghose, Ajay Gupta, Penny Hun
Source of Additional Funds

local or private

Project Overview

Arts Learning

Project Details

The MacPhail Online Community Partnership pilot project with Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg schools will provide residents (ages 3 - adult) of five southwestern Minnesota counties with a range of opportunities to create, perform, and respond to music.

Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
MacPhail Center for Music
Street Address
501 S 2nd St
Zip Code
(612) 767-5326
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications

Ardell Brede: Mayor of Rochester, elected 2002.; Peggy Burnet: Businesswoman, art collector, and community volunteer. Chair of the Nominating Committee, Smithsonian National Board. Trustee, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Michael Charron: Dean of the School of the Arts, Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Wendy Dayton: Arts and community leader and philanthopist.; Sean Dowse: Executive director, Sheldon Theatre. Board member for Minnesota Music Coalition, Minnesota Citizens for the Arts, and Anderson Center for Interdisciplinary Studies.; David Glenn, Executive director of the Minnesota Project, ceramic artist; Benjamin Klipfel: Board member, Minnesota State Arts Board. Executive Director, Alexandria Area Arts Association, Inc. Director and arts educator.; Ellen McInnis: Director of Twin Cities government relations, Wells Fargo. Member of Bottineau Boulevard Partnership. Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Thomas Moss: Consultant to nonprofits and government agencies; Janice Sivertson: Gallery owner and visual artist; Anton Treuer: Professor of Ojibwe, Bemidji State University.

Advisory Group Members and Qualifications

Jeffrey Bleam: Chair; department of theatre and film studies, Saint Cloud State University; Phyllis Doyle: Retired arts administrator; award-winning poet and fiction writer; Donald Hill: Visiting assistant professor, creative writing program, University of Alaska-Fairbanks; author and poet; Dorothy Kantor: Assistant director, National Catholic Youth Choir; Ruthe Thompson: Professor of English, Southwest Minnesota State University; Elizabeth Ward: Arts program coordinator, Backus Community Center

Conflict of Interest Disclosed