Arts Learning

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2014 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Ann K. Heymann
Recipient Type
Start Date
November 2013
End Date
October 2014
Activity Type
Counties Affected
St. Louis
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2013, Chapter 137, Article 4, Section 2, Subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Education

2014 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

Five communities will learn about the Gaelic harp and ten students will receive an instrument and learn to play it, all locally and at no cost. Questionnaires will be distributed to and collected from community members, apprentices and sponsoring partners, soliciting the scope and impact of the project on the community and participants and suggestions for improvement.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Five Minnesota communities learned about the Gaelic harp and ten students received an instrument and learned to string, tune and play it—all locally at no cost to them.

Project Overview

Arts Learning

Project Details

Using performance, audiovisuals, exercises, and discussion, a five program Gaelic harp series will enable learners in five communities to further their musical understanding and skills. Ten motivated learners will each build a harp and receive yearlong instruction.

Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Ann K. Heymann
(507) 745-1075
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications

Ardell Brede: Mayor of Rochester, elected 2002.; Peggy Burnet: Businesswoman, art collector, and community volunteer. Chair of the Nominating Committee, Smithsonian National Board. Trustee, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Michael Charron: Dean of the School of the Arts, Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Wendy Dayton: Arts and community leader and philanthopist.; Sean Dowse: Executive director, Sheldon Theatre. Board member for Minnesota Music Coalition, Minnesota Citizens for the Arts, and Anderson Center for Interdisciplinary Studies.; David Glenn, Executive director of the Minnesota Project, ceramic artist; Benjamin Klipfel: Board member, Minnesota State Arts Board. Executive Director, Alexandria Area Arts Association, Inc. Director and arts educator.; Ellen McInnis: Director of Twin Cities government relations, Wells Fargo. Member of Bottineau Boulevard Partnership. Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Thomas Moss: Consultant to nonprofits and government agencies; Janice Sivertson: Gallery owner and visual artist; Anton Treuer: Professor of Ojibwe, Bemidji State University.

Advisory Group Members and Qualifications

Melinda Breva: Development manager, Franconia Sculpture Park; Robert Cline: Adjunct faculty member, architectural technologies and AutoCAD, Rochester Community and Technical College; architect and community volunteer; Abraham Hunter: Collaborative pianist, founder of Loon Opera Company; Brian Jose: Executive director, fine arts programming, College of Saint Benedict/Saint John’s University; Peter Morales: Sculptor of large-scale outdoor pieces; former visiting artist, University of Minnesota, and Jerome Fellow; Susan Potvin: Middle school band director, Salk Middle School; percussionist; Pat Samples: Lifelong learning coordinator, Ebenezer; cofounder and former director of ARTSAGE; Loretta Simonet: Musician with award-winning folk music duo, Curtis and Loretta; John Thew: Managing director, Theater Latte Da|Robert Thomas, Associate director of development, Great River Shakespeare Festival

Conflict of Interest Disclosed