Arts Learning

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2012 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Minneapolis College of Art and Design AKA MCAD
Recipient Type
Public College/University
Start Date
September 2012
End Date
February 2013
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Project Overview
Arts Learning
Project Details
Minneapolis College of Art and Design will work in partnership with FAIR School Downtown to engage teens from low-income families in customized studio art and design programs.
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Judson Bemis Jr., Actor, arts administrator, founder and principal of Clere Consulting. Secretary, Minnesota State Arts Board., Ardell Brede, Mayor of Rochester, elected 2002., Peggy Burnet, Businesswoman, art collector, and community volunteer. Chair of the Nominating Committee, Smithsonian National Board. Trustee, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board., Michael Charron, Dean of the School of the Arts, Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board., Sean Dowse, Executive director, Sheldon Theatre. Board member for Minnesota Music Coalition, Minnesota Citizens for the Arts, and Anderson Center for Interdisciplinary Studies., John Gunyou, City manager, Minnetonka., Benjamin Klipfel, Executive Director, Alexandria Area Arts Association, Inc. Director and arts educator.,Ellen McInnis, Director of Twin Cities government relations, Wells Fargo. Member of Bottineau Boulevard Partnership. Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board., Pamela Perri, Executive vice president, Builders Association of Minnesota., Margaret Rapp, Former educator, Saint Paul Academy and Summit School. Officer at-large, Minnesota State Arts Board., Anton Treuer, Professor of Ojibwe, Bemidji State University.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Mary Baier: Educator and administrator, Minnesota Public Schools. Trainer, Minnesota Principals' Academy.; Scott Bean: Artist, retired art teacher, member of Marcy Arts Partnership.; Anne Dugan: Curator and interim director, Duluth Art Institute. Founder and co-director, Free Range Film Festival.; Joan Eisenreich: Director, Mankato Public Schools Community Education and Recreation program.; Keitha Hamann: Associate professor of music education, University of Minnesota. Research chair, Minnesota Music Educators Association.; Nils Heymann: Art educator, St Thomas University.; Rebecca Meyer-Larson: Director of theater, Moorhead High School and ACT UP Theater.; Heather Miller-Shiell: Director of development and institutional giving, Minnesota Orchestra.; Kirstin Wiegmann: Cultural policy and leadership instructor, St Mary's University. Education and community engagement specialist, Forecast Public Art. Artist and arts consultant.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2011, First Special Session, chapter 6, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Education

2012 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

Arts learning opportunities are more accessible to Minnesota because barriers to participation have been identified and mitigated.

Measurable Outcome(s)

1. High School Students at FAIR Downtown were able to participate in rigorous art and design classes. These classes were made free and accessible to the students by eliminating the cost barrier (classes were free) and the transportation barrier (buses were provided). 2. We hired an outside evaluation consultant (Vanessa Stephens of FaceValu Learning) to conduct both surveys and focus groups for students who participated in the classes. The focus of her evaluation was to determine the following: effectiveness of the arts programming in meeting students' needs and interests; their ability to participate and if not, what were the barriers; what Minneapolis College of Art and Design and FAIR could be doing to engage more students in the program.

Description of Funds
Recipient Board Members
Mary Lazarus, Monica Little, Bruce Bean, Kevin Bennett, Leslie Berkshire, Mary Bowman Rae, Ryan Burnet, Uri Camarena, Anne Cashill, Andrew Dayton, Miles Fiterman, John Lindahl, Mitzi Magid, Betsy Massie, David Moore, Clinton H. Morrison, Howard Rubin, Julie Snow, D. Robert Teslow II, Bill Thorburn
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Minneapolis College of Art and Design AKA MCAD
Street Address
2501 Stevens Ave S
Zip Code
(612) 874-3790
Administered By
Administered by

Griggs Midway Building, Suite 304,
540 Fairview Avenue North,
St. Paul, MN 55104

(651) 539-2650 or toll-free (800) 866-2787
Email the Agency