Arts Learning

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2012 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
MacPhail Center for Music
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
March 2012
End Date
May 2013
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Project Overview
Arts Learning
Project Details
MacPhailÆs Online Residency Initiative will support and enhance music education programs in eight greater Minnesota public schools through interactive, online technology.
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Judson Bemis Jr., Actor, arts administrator, founder and principal of Clere Consulting. Secretary, Minnesota State Arts Board., Ardell Brede, Mayor of Rochester, elected 2002., Peggy Burnet, Businesswoman, art collector, and community volunteer. Chair of the Nominating Committee, Smithsonian National Board. Trustee, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board., Michael Charron, Dean of the School of the Arts, Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board., Sean Dowse, Executive director, Sheldon Theatre. Board member for Minnesota Music Coalition, Minnesota Citizens for the Arts, and Anderson Center for Interdisciplinary Studies., John Gunyou, City manager, Minnetonka., Benjamin Klipfel, Executive Director, Alexandria Area Arts Association, Inc. Director and arts educator.,Ellen McInnis, Director of Twin Cities government relations, Wells Fargo. Member of Bottineau Boulevard Partnership. Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board., Pamela Perri, Executive vice president, Builders Association of Minnesota., Margaret Rapp, Former educator, Saint Paul Academy and Summit School. Officer at-large, Minnesota State Arts Board., Anton Treuer, Professor of Ojibwe, Bemidji State University.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Mary Baier: Educator and administrator, Minnesota Public Schools. Trainer, Minnesota Principals' Academy.; Scott Bean: Artist, retired art teacher, member of Marcy Arts Partnership.; Anne Dugan: Curator and interim director, Duluth Art Institute. Founder and co-director, Free Range Film Festival.; Joan Eisenreich: Director, Mankato Public Schools Community Education and Recreation program.; Keitha Hamann: Associate professor of music education, University of Minnesota. Research chair, Minnesota Music Educators Association.; Nils Heymann: Art educator, St Thomas University.; Rebecca Meyer-Larson: Director of theater, Moorhead High School and ACT UP Theater.; Heather Miller-Shiell: Director of development and institutional giving, Minnesota Orchestra.; Kirstin Wiegmann: Cultural policy and leadership instructor, St Mary's University. Education and community engagement specialist, Forecast Public Art. Artist and arts consultant.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2011, First Special Session, chapter 6, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Education

2012 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

The quantity and types of arts learning opportunities in the state, and the organizations or venues that offer them increases. Arts learning opportunities are more accessible to Minnesota because barriers to participation have been identified and mitigated. More Minnesotans are engaged in arts learning opportunities.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Support and enhance music education programs, create access to specialty instruction, and provide resources to help music programs reach new levels of performance. Through careful planning and collaboration, MacPhail’s Online Residency achieved all stated goals. President/Chief Operating Officer Paul Babcock and Lead Teaching Artist Bob Adney were responsible for the assessment of MacPhail’s Online Residency, customizing existing or creating new evaluation tools. Surveys were conducted for students and music educators. Teaching artists conduct monthly interviews with schools’ music educators. Babcock visited each school during the grant period to meet with school leaders and assess the progress of the program. Results were extremely positive with high student, teacher and school administrator satisfaction (85% indicated that they were completely satisfied" with the program) and requests for future programming and partnership. 2: Support and enhance music education programs in public schools through online technology, create access to specialty instruction, provide resources to help music programs reach new levels of performance, help build community pride by breaking down barriers of distance and travel time. Based on the evaluation plan noted above, MacPhail’s Online Residency was highly successful. 85% of school music teachers indicated that MacPhail’s Online Residency had a positive impact on student progress and their school music program. A student at Yellow-Medicine-East said, "Working with MacPhail instructors has taught me things I have never considered. We started with group lessons and it improved our overall section. I also received support to prepare for All-State auditions which would not have gone as well without help from MacPhail.""

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Thomas Abood, Jane Alexander, Barry Berg, Sally Blanks, Mark Borman, Margee Bracken, Ellen Breyer, Walter Broughton, Roma Calatayud-Stocks, Thomas Clark, Leslie Frecon, Rahoul Ghose, Ajay Gupta, Twanya Hood Hill, Penny Hunt, Robert Lawson, Diana Lewis, Janie Mayeron, W. McEnery, Kate Mortenson, Patty Murphy, David Myers, Sonja Noteboom, Roderick Palmore, Christopher Perrigo, Connie Remele, Samuel Salas, Chris Simpson, Katherine Snow, Peter Spokes, Kiran Stordalen, Steven Wells
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
MacPhail Center for Music
Street Address
501 S 2nd St
Zip Code
(612) 767-5309
Administered By
Administered by

Griggs Midway Building, Suite 304,
540 Fairview Avenue North,
St. Paul, MN 55104

(651) 539-2650 or toll-free (800) 866-2787
Email the Agency