Minnesota's Legacy

Arts Learning

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2012 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Loft, Inc. AKA The Loft Literary Center
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
March 2012
End Date
February 2013
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2011, First Special Session, chapter 6, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Education

2012 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

The quantity and types of arts learning opportunities in the state, and the organizations or venues that offer them increases. Arts learning opportunities are more accessible to Minnesota because barriers to participation have been identified and mitigated. More Minnesotans are engaged in arts learning opportunities.

Measurable Outcome(s)

The Loft was able to offer three additional conferences at our facilities in Open Book (Minneapolis), and our first conference was held off-site at the Audubon Center of the North Woods (Sandstone). We evaluated the degree to which we achieved the outcome by collecting number of registrants, and surveys completed by conference participants that included participant demographics and qualitative assessments. 2: In addition to providing activities in accessible spaces and providing accessible accommodations for weekend conferences, the Loft purchased assistive listening devices for our classrooms at Open Book to address hearing issues that patrons may have when activities are taking place in all classrooms. To assess accessibility, we collected qualitative feedback via surveys, and discussed among the staff how participant needs were met. We provided two of the conferences free of charge: the two-day Creative Writing Conference for Writers 50 and Better, and the one-day Teen Novel Writing Conference. To assess this effort, we tracked registrations, and we asked participants to rate their satisfaction with the conference and its associated fee.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Ed Bok Lee, Thomas J. Conley, Lorena Duarte, Sharon Hendry, Dobby Gibson, Rachael Jarosh, Lorna Landvik, Susan Lenfestey, Jim Levi, Chris Mikko, Alisa Miller, Isabell Monk O'Connor, Carla Paulson, John Schenk, Angela Shannon, Ruth Shields, Karen Sternal, Sarah Stoesz, Faith Sullivan, Ryan Thao Worra, Kamau Witherspoon, Margaret Wurtele, Jocelyn Hale (ex-officio)
Project Overview
Arts Learning
Project Details
The Loft will expand its writing conference offerings with four new conferences that engage specific, underserved target populations, and for which there is documented community interest.
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Loft, Inc. AKA The Loft Literary Center
Street Address
1011 Washington Ave S Ste 200
Zip Code
(612) 215-2580
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Judson Bemis Jr., Actor, arts administrator, founder and principal of Clere Consulting. Secretary, Minnesota State Arts Board., Ardell Brede, Mayor of Rochester, elected 2002., Peggy Burnet, Businesswoman, art collector, and community volunteer. Chair of the Nominating Committee, Smithsonian National Board. Trustee, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board., Michael Charron, Dean of the School of the Arts, Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board., Sean Dowse, Executive director, Sheldon Theatre. Board member for Minnesota Music Coalition, Minnesota Citizens for the Arts, and Anderson Center for Interdisciplinary Studies., John Gunyou, City manager, Minnetonka., Benjamin Klipfel, Executive Director, Alexandria Area Arts Association, Inc. Director and arts educator.,Ellen McInnis, Director of Twin Cities government relations, Wells Fargo. Member of Bottineau Boulevard Partnership. Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board., Pamela Perri, Executive vice president, Builders Association of Minnesota., Margaret Rapp, Former educator, Saint Paul Academy and Summit School. Officer at-large, Minnesota State Arts Board., Anton Treuer, Professor of Ojibwe, Bemidji State University.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Mary Baier: Educator and administrator, Minnesota Public Schools. Trainer, Minnesota Principals' Academy.; Scott Bean: Artist, retired art teacher, member of Marcy Arts Partnership.; Anne Dugan: Curator and interim director, Duluth Art Institute. Founder and co-director, Free Range Film Festival.; Joan Eisenreich: Director, Mankato Public Schools Community Education and Recreation program.; Keitha Hamann: Associate professor of music education, University of Minnesota. Research chair, Minnesota Music Educators Association.; Nils Heymann: Art educator, St Thomas University.; Rebecca Meyer-Larson: Director of theater, Moorhead High School and ACT UP Theater.; Heather Miller-Shiell: Director of development and institutional giving, Minnesota Orchestra.; Kirstin Wiegmann: Cultural policy and leadership instructor, St Mary's University. Education and community engagement specialist, Forecast Public Art. Artist and arts consultant.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed