Arts in Education Residency

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2015 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Winona Area Public Schools
Recipient Type
K-12 Education
Start Date
October 2014
End Date
May 2015
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2011, First Special Session, chapter 6, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Education

2015 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

The residency will introduce at least 50 high school students to the art of book making during the 2014-15 school year.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Through hands-on experience students made a book model and a final, polished, one-of-a-kind carousel or tunnel book.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Ben Baratto, Mohamed Elhindi, Jay Kohner, Tina Lehnertz, Jeanne Nelson, Steve Schild, Brian Zeller
Project Overview
Arts in Education Residency
Project Details
Winona Senior High School book making residency with artist Jill Krase
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Winona Area Public Schools
Street Address
903 Gilmore Ave
Zip Code
(507) 494-0801
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Kjel Alkire: art faculty at Winona State University; Hal Cropp: Executive Director of Commonweal Theatre; Daved Driscoll: Executive Director of Words Players; Julie Fakler: education coordinator at Paradise Center for the Arts; Drue Fergison: linguist, writer; Larry Gorrell: former dean of Saint Mary's University; Teresa Kauffmann: photographer; Paula Michel: Harmony Arts Board member; Connie Nelson: music educator; Jane Olive: costumer; Scott Roberts: arts administrator; Judy Saye-Willis: fiber artist; Steve Schmidt: musician, arts administrator.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Andrea Gaffke: artist; Judy Hickey: arts administrator; David Kassler: composer; Marie Maher: musician; Mary Ruth: Kathy Rush: thespian; Jon Swanson: curator; Philip Taylor: artist; Sandy Thompson: arts administrator; Emily Urness: writer; Tom Willis: potter.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed