Arts in Education Residency

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2015 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Winona Area Public Schools
Recipient Type
K-12 Education
Start Date
October 2014
End Date
May 2015
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2011, First Special Session, chapter 6, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Education

2015 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

The Winona Area Public Schools elementary residency will connect at least 160 fourth grade students with a local artist through a quality artist residency during the school day and after school during the 2014-15 school year.To measure outcomes, students will complete a survey regarding the quality of the residency. Counts from the school collected in Infinite campus, will provide the number of participants for the school day, Jeff Morgan will maintain records of the number of students in the after school program.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Students were allowed to finish their pieces after the residency had concluded and some budding artists were discovered.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Ben Baratto, Mohamed Elhindi, Jay Kohner, Tina Lehnertz, Jeanne Nelson, Steve Schild, Brian Zeller
Project Overview
Arts in Education Residency
Project Details
Goodview Elementary, Jefferson Elementary, and Rollingstone Community Schools 4th grade painting residency with artist Andrew Foss
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Winona Area Public Schools
Street Address
903 Gilmore Ave
Zip Code
(507) 494-0801
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Kjel Alkire: art faculty at Winona State University; Hal Cropp: Executive Director of Commonweal Theatre; Daved Driscoll: Executive Director of Words Players; Julie Fakler: education coordinator at Paradise Center for the Arts; Drue Fergison: linguist, writer; Larry Gorrell: former dean of Saint Mary's University; Teresa Kauffmann: photographer; Paula Michel: Harmony Arts Board member; Connie Nelson: music educator; Jane Olive: costumer; Scott Roberts: arts administrator; Judy Saye-Willis: fiber artist; Steve Schmidt: musician, arts administrator.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Andrea Gaffke: artist; Judy Hickey: arts administrator; David Kassler: composer; Marie Maher: musician; Mary Ruth: Kathy Rush: thespian; Jon Swanson: curator; Philip Taylor: artist; Sandy Thompson: arts administrator; Emily Urness: writer; Tom Willis: potter.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed