Arts and Cultural Heritage Grant

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2013 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
T.B. Sheldon Memorial Theatre AKA The Sheldon Theatre
Recipient Type
Local/Regional Government
Start Date
January 2013
End Date
December 2013
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2011, First Special Session, chapter 6, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2013 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

Provide quality arts experiences for 2-12 students. Build new relationships by working with Community Education to remove cost and transportation barriers with underserved communities.Stories, video recordings, surveys, diversification of student participants and data collection such as increased participation in classes and increased contributed revenues will be tracked.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Overall, we did not have as much interest in the classes as we had hoped. However, 2nd to 4th grade classes were always full. Several signed up again after enjoying their first class. We did not have a large percentage of low-income or minority students enroll. The other goals were accomplished.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Nancy Dimunation, Verna Fricke, Mike Melstad, Bunny Petersen, Mary Rauterkus, Chuck Richardson, Ian Scheerer
Project Overview
Sheldon School of the Performing Arts 2013 Sessions
Project Details
Sheldon School of the Performing Arts 2013 Sessions.
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
T.B. Sheldon Memorial Theatre AKA The Sheldon Theatre
Street Address
443 W 3rd St
Red Wing
Zip Code
(651) 388-8701
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Andrea Costopoulos: Rochester Arts Council; Hal Cropp: Commonweal Theatre; Daved Driscoll: Northland Words; Drue Fergison: musicologist; Ryan Heinritz: Paradise Center; Teresa Kauffmann: photographer; Paula Michel: Harmony Arts Board; Connie Nelson: music educator; Judy Saye-Willis: fiber artist; Steve Schmidt: City of Rochester Music Department; Deborah Wasmund: mosaic artist.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Scott Anderson: musician; Marta Biitner: visual artist; Elizabeth Bucheit: goldsmith; Alan Calavano: musician, historian; Judy Hickey: theatre artist; Carolyn Hiller: arts administrator; Jane Olive: dancer; Kathy Rush: theatre; Philip Taylor: visual artist; Tom Willis: potter.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed