Arts and Cultural Heritage Grant

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2012 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Chippewa County Fair
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
June 2012
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Project Overview

To bring Native American cultural heritage programming to the Chippewa County Fair. Dancers, singers, drummers, and storytellers from the Upper and Lower Sioux tribes will perform at a grandstand event.

Competitive Grant Making Body
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications

Pat Coleman: Acquisitions Librarian at the Minnesota Historical Society.

Sue Ellingsen: Former middle school Band Director at Blue Earth Area Public School.  2006 Blue Earth Area Teacher of the Year. 

Jamey Flannery: Project Manager at Flannery Construction.  Has full range of general contracting experience, from new construction to remodeling to improving historical structures.

Dan Grunhovd: Past president of the Minnesota Federation of County Fairs.

Ron Oleheiser: District 8 Representative of the Minnesota State Fair.

Conflict of Interest Disclosed
Legal Citation / Subdivision
2011 Laws of Minnesota, Article 4, Section 2, Subdivison 10
Appropriation Language

These amounts are appropriated to the commissioner of agriculture for grants to county agricultural societies to enhance arts access and education and to preserve and promote Minnesota's history and cultural heritage as embodied in its county fairs. The grants shall be in addition to the aid distributed to county agricultural societies under Minnesota Statutes, section 38.02. The commissioner shall award grants as follows: (2) $700,000 each year for a competitive Arts and Cultural Heritage Grants Program-County Fairs. The commissioner shall award grants for the development or enhancement of county fair facilities or other projects or programs that provide access to the arts, arts education, or agricultural, historical, and cultural heritage programs, including but not limited to agricultural education centers, arts buildings, and performance stages.

2012 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Direct expenses
Recipient Board Members
Sue Jenson
Ronda Kimpling
Ron Ochsendorf
Rick Christenson
Mark Dahl
Kevin Hansen
Kelly Lindman
Kami Schoenfeld
Joe Anderson
Jim Dahlvang
Jerry Pauling
Denny Anderson
Deanna Hodge
Cindy Kanten
Chuck Shellenbarger
Mike Johnson
Steve Haugen
Sandi Gunter
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Chippewa County Fair
Street Address
PO Box 413
Zip Code
Administered By
Administered by

625 Robert Street North
St. Paul, MN 55155

Email the Agency