Arts and Cultural Heritage Grant

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2012 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Pine County Agricultural Society
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
In Progress
Start Date
April 2012
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Project Overview

To construct a multi-purpose building for music, theater, entertainment, and artistic demonstrations. The structure will be designed to enhance the quality of sound and the visibility of the artists who perform on stage for the audience.

Competitive Grant Making Body
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications

Pat Coleman: Acquisitions Librarian at the Minnesota Historical Society.
Sue Ellingsen: Former middle school band director at Blue Earth Area Public School. 2006 Blue Earth Area Teacher of the Year.
Jamey Flannery: Project Manager at Flannery Construction. Has full range of general contracting experience, from new construction to remodeling to improving historical structures.
Dan Grunhovd: Former president of the Minnesota Federation of County Fairs.
Ron Oleheiser: District 8 Representative of the Minnesota State Fair.

Conflict of Interest Disclosed
Legal Citation / Subdivision
2011 Laws of Minnesota, Article 4, Section 2, Subdivison 10
Appropriation Language

These amounts are appropriated to the commissioner of agriculture for grants to county agricultural societies to enhance arts access and education and to preserve and promote Minnesota's history and cultural heritage as embodied in its county fairs. The grants shall be in addition to the aid distributed to county agricultural societies under Minnesota Statutes, section 38.02. The commissioner shall award grants as follows: (2) $700,000 each year for a competitive Arts and Cultural Heritage Grants Program-County Fairs. The commissioner shall award grants for the development or enhancement of county fair facilities or other projects or programs that provide access to the arts, arts education, or agricultural, historical, and cultural heritage programs, including but not limited to agricultural education centers, arts buildings, and performance stages. 

2012 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

Audience members will be surveyed.

Recipient Board Members
Luke Anderson
Ronnie Berdan
Terry Bombard
Dave Deutschlander
Dick Doenz
David Durheim
Mark Emslander
Steve Hallan
Kevin Hinze
Eldon Johnson
Bob Leibel
Mike Ovik
John Skluzacek
Jim Sward
Brent Thompson
Jeff Wimmer
Scott Wimmer
Ed Pangrel
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Pine County Agricultural Society
Street Address
Route 1
Pine City
Zip Code
Administered By
Administered by

625 Robert Street North
St. Paul, MN 55155

Email the Agency