Minnesota's Legacy

Arts and Cultural Heritage

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2015 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Rochester Male Chorus, Inc.
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
January 2015
End Date
July 2015
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2013, Chapter 137, Article 4, Section 2, Subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access ACHF Cultural Heritage

2015 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

To increase our younger audience patronage. To promote the male chorus/glee club style of music. Emphasis in promotions will include area schools, we will make a concerted effort to provide complimentary tickets to all area school choirs and to others who could not otherwise afford it. A combination of written and verbal evaluations from the artists and audience members as well as data collection such as increased attendance and increased revenues will be used to measure outcomes.

Measurable Outcome(s)

The primary goal for the concert was to increase our outreach and visibility in the community and to expose Rochester residents to the Male Chorus style of vocal music. We did so by updating our social media presence, adding performances, and giving back to the community.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Jim Depaolo, Dale Ely, Ed Heckman, Peter Kay, Roy Knuth, Peter Schuh, Mike Temple
Project Overview
Arts and Cultural Heritage
Project Details
Rochester Male Chorus 85th Anniversary Big Sing (300-man chorus)
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Rochester Male Chorus, Inc.
Street Address
PO Box 6524
Zip Code
(507) 288-5546
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
John Becker: Business Owner; Hal Cropp: Executive Director, Commonweal; Daved Driscoll: Executive Director, Words Players; Julie Fakler: education coordinator, Paradise Center; Drue Fergison: linguist, writer; Teresa Kauffmann: photographer; Connie Nelson: music educator; Jane Olive: costumer; Scott Roberts: arts administrator; Steve Schmidt: musician, arts administrator.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Scott Anderson: musician; Andrea Gaffke: artist; Judy Hickey: arts administrator; David Kassler: composer; Marie Maher: musician; Kathy Rush: thespian; Mary Ruth: dancer; Jon Swanson: curator; Joan Sween: author; Philip Taylor: artist; Sandy Thompson: arts administrator; Gary Tollers: musician; Tom Willis: potter
Conflict of Interest Contact
Southeastern Minnesota Arts Council, Robin Pearson (507) 281-4848