Arts and Cultural Heritage

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2015 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Northfield Public Schools
Recipient Type
K-12 Education
Start Date
October 2015
End Date
May 2016
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2013, Chapter 137, Article 4, Section 2, Subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access ACHF Arts Education

2015 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

Northfield students will access an art-making experience beyond the traditional curriculum. The sculpture will have great visibility in a prominent place on the cityscape and then have lasting art educational value by inspiring generations of students to contemplate public art daily. Northfield videographer, Paul Krause, will be creating a documentary of the project. Evaluation surveys will be collected from project participants, as well as residents and visitors. We will keep a tally of student attendance and record the number of attendees at the capstone event.

Measurable Outcome(s)

The project provided young emerging artists with a guided and creative public sculpture experience. We paid professional artists appropriately for their time and expertise and provided an organized teaching opportunity to share their craft and publicly display the creative product of a healthy collaboration.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Fritz Bogott, Margaret Colangelo, Rob Hardy, Ellen Iverson, Julie Pritchard, Jeff Quinnell, Noel Stratmoen
Project Overview
Arts and Cultural Heritage
Project Details
Northfield Young Sculptors Project 2016
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Northfield Public Schools
Street Address
1400 Division St S
(507) 663-0600
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Kjel Alkire: performance artist; John Becker: Business Owner; Hal Cropp: Executive Director, Commonweal; Daved Driscoll: Executive Director, Words Players; Julie Fakler: operations manager, Paradise Center; Drue Fergison: linguist, writer; Teresa Kauffmann: photographer; Paula Michel: secretary, Harmony Arts Board; Connie Nelson: music educator; Jane Olive: costumer; Scott Roberts: visual artist; Judy Saye-Willis: fiber artist; Steve Schmidt: musician, arts administrator.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Scott Anderson: musician; Andrea Gaffke: artist; Judy Hickey: arts administrator; David Kassler: composer; Marie Maher: musician; Kathleen Peterson, playwright; Kathy Rush: thespian; Mary Ruth: dancer; Joan Sween: author; Sandy Thompson: arts administrator; Gary Tollers: musician; Tom Willis: potter
Conflict of Interest Contact
Southeastern Minnesota Arts Council, Robin Pearson (507) 281-4848