Minnesota's Legacy

Arts and Cultural Heritage

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2015 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Cannon Falls Area Historical Society
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
July 2015
End Date
August 2015
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2013, Chapter 137, Article 4, Section 2, Subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access ACHF Arts Education ACHF Cultural Heritage

2015 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

Museums large and small are struggling for the attention of individuals in this new busy world. By taking our history out to where the people are we will have the opportunity to develop relationships with individuals that would never think about going to a museum. Doing this with artworks (murals) is all the better. We will use several methods. We have set up a Give Us Your Feedback link on our website. We will hand out evaluation forms at the capstone event with the opportunity to win prizes if completed and submitted that day. We will email surveys to various community organizations requesting feedback.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Mural completion by August 15, 2015. Capstone event held successfully. We found that there is a strong desire for more murals.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Paul Bringgold, Steven Dabelow, Meg Judge, Dennis Kalow, Dick Peterson, Tom Monroe
Project Overview
Arts and Cultural Heritage
Project Details
Large Mural of Several Cannon Falls Historic Photos
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Cannon Falls Area Historical Society
Street Address
206 Mill St W PO Box 111
Cannon Falls
Zip Code
(507) 263-4080
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Kjel Alkire: performance artist; John Becker: Business Owner; Hal Cropp: Executive Director, Commonweal; Daved Driscoll: Executive Director, Words Players; Julie Fakler: operations manager, Paradise Center; Drue Fergison: linguist, writer; Teresa Kauffmann: photographer; Paula Michel: secretary, Harmony Arts Board; Connie Nelson: music educator; Jane Olive: costumer; Scott Roberts: visual artist; Judy Saye-Willis: fiber artist; Steve Schmidt: musician, arts administrator.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Scott Anderson: musician; Andrea Gaffke: artist; Judy Hickey: arts administrator; David Kassler: composer; Marie Maher: musician; Kathleen Peterson, playwright; Kathy Rush: thespian; Mary Ruth: dancer; Joan Sween: author; Sandy Thompson: arts administrator; Gary Tollers: musician; Tom Willis: potter