Arts and Cultural Heritage

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2014 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Theatre du Mississippi
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
June 2014
End Date
January 2015
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2013, Chapter 137, Article 4, Section 2, Subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2014 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

Our new reading series will allow more artists the ability to share their works, and will expose more people to this medium. Additionally, we are developing a more formal marketing plan to reach more community members.We will provide surveys at each event. We will count number of audience members. We will count number of new playwrights involved throughout the year. Our goal is to increase the number of events and the attendance overall.

Measurable Outcome(s)

We provided four new readings (with several more scheduled) and during the past two months, members of the board and the funding adviser have been working on a marketing plan, which will be executed in the spring.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
George Cipov, Sam Michael, Dan Munson, Judy Myers, Lynn Nankivil, Paul Sannerud, Peggy Sannerud, Margaret Shaw Johnson, Rob Thomas
Project Overview
Arts and Cultural Heritage
Project Details
2014 Programming Season for Theatre du Mississippi
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Forkner Moe
Organization Name
Theatre du Mississippi
Street Address
225 Main St PO Box 184
Zip Code
(507) 474-9350
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Kjellgren Alkire: art faculty Winona State University; Daved Driscoll: Artistic Director Words Players Theatre; Julie Fakler: Edication Coordinator Paradise Center for the Arts; Larry Gorrell: former dean Saint Mary's University; Connie Nelson: retired music educator; Jane Olive: Mantorville Theatre Company; Judy Saye-Willis: fiber artist; Steve Schmidt: General Manager City of Rochester Music Department.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Scott Anderson: musician; Liz Bucheit: owner/artist Crown Trout Jewelers; Andrea Gaffke: arts administrator; Judy Hickey: Board Children's Dance Theatre; Bill Hoy: playwright, songwriter; David Kassler: musician; Kathy Rush: Lockwood Theatre Company; Jon Swanson: curator Minnesota Marine Art Museum; Joan Sween: novelist, columnist, playwright; Gary Tollers: musician.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed