Arts and Cultural Heritage

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2019 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Arlington Chamber of Commerce
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
In Progress
Start Date
September 2018
End Date
February 2019
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Blue Earth
Le Sueur
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2017 Regular Session, chapter 91, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2019 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

The number of Minnesotans who are engaged in arts education and learning opportunities increases. The number of Minnesotans who participate in arts festivals and folk and traditional activities increases. The variety and number of festivals and traditional arts activities in our region/state increases. We plan to do a sample survey of our attendees to determine where they are traveling from to attend Arli-Dazzle.

Source of Additional Funds

Other,local or private

Project Overview

Arts and Cultural Heritage

Project Details

They will sponsor the annual Arli-Dazzle celebration, including ethnic and traditional music and entertainment; December 2018. Funds will be used for artists’ fees, publicity, and rental fees.

Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Arlington Chamber of Commerce
Street Address
PO Box 435
Zip Code
(507) 351-1324
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications

Steve Davis: member of the Mankato Symphony Orchestra and Minnesota State University/Community Orchestra, volunteer for Mankato Area Youth Symphony Orchestra and New Ulm Suzuki School of Music; Denice Evers: retired teacher and volunteer with the Springfield Community Theater; Kristie Gaalswyk-Pomerenke: Martin County 4-H Coordinator, former Education Coordinator at the Ordway Center for Performing Arts, and a board member for the Martin County Area Foundation and Fairmont Community Education; Diane Harms: sings with the Saint Peter Choral Society and the Minnesota Valley Chorale; Karen Krause: a visual artist, retired school counselor and art teacher, and a member and instructor at the Waseca Art Center; Margie Larson: a visual artist and retired coordinator in the International Students Office at Minnesota State University, Mankato; Charles Luedtke: retired college Professor of Music, New Ulm and member of the Sioux Trails Chapter, American Guild of Organists; Randy Mediger: retired principal and teacher and charter member of LeSueur Community Theater; Liz Miller: a visual artist and college Professor of Art at Minnesota State University, Mankato; Lauren Shoemaker: music instructor at St. Peter Public Schools; Dana Sikkila: a visual artist and the Executive Director of the 410 Project Gallery, Mankato; Carol Soma: retired Language Arts teacher and volunteer with the Kee Civic Theatre; Dennis Van Moorlehem: retired teacher and volunteer on Sibley County Fair Board and community festivals.

Advisory Group Members and Qualifications

Steve Davis: orchestra member, orchestra volunteer, music school volunteer; Denice Evers: retired teacher, community theater volunteer; Kristie Gaalswyk-Pomerenke: 4-H Coordinator, education coordinator, board member; Diane Harms: singer; Karen Krause: visual artist, retired school counselor, retired art teacher, art center instructor; Margie Larson: visual artist and retired college international student coordinator; Charles Luedtke: retired music professor, Organists guild; Randy Mediger: retired principal, retired teacher, community theater charter member; Liz Miller: visual artist, art professor; Lauren Shoemaker: school music instructor; Dana Sikkila: visual artist, gallery executive director; Carol Soma: retired language arts teacher, theater volunteer; Dennis Van Moorlehem: retired teacher, fair and festival board volunteer.

Conflict of Interest Disclosed
Conflict of Interest Contact

Prairie Lakes Regional Arts Council, Inc., Brenda Byron (507) 833-8721