Arts and Cultural Heritage

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2014 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
City of Northfield AKA Northfield Arts and Culture Commission
Recipient Type
Local/Regional Government
Start Date
January 2014
End Date
September 2014
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2013, Chapter 137, Article 4, Section 2, Subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access ACHF Arts Education

2014 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

Our goals are to meet or exceed the high participation levels of previous Sidewalk Poetry Contests, to increase participation in the Poem in Your Pocket and Capstone events, and to imprint 8-10 additional poems in the sidewalks of downtown Northfield where they are accessible to all.We will measure these outcomes by counting the number of poets participating, along with the number of poems submitted to the contest. We will also count the individuals participating in our Kick-off and Capstone events. We will document the installation of the new poems in our city sidewalks.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Attendance increased. We estimated that 130 people participated in the celebration. Some interested people even came from outside Northfield.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Christie Clarke, Dan Dressen, Bonnie Jean Flom, Steve Richardson, Leslie Schultz, Philip Spensley, Tim Vick
Project Overview
Arts and Cultural Heritage
Project Details
Northfield Sidewalk Public Poetry Project 2014
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
City of Northfield AKA Northfield Arts and Culture Commission
Street Address
801 Washington St
Zip Code
(507) 645-8863
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Hal Cropp: Executive Director Commonweal Theatre Company; Daved Driscoll: Artistic Director Northland Words-Words Players Theatre; Drue Fergison: musicologist with dance and literary expertise; Teresa Kauffmann: photographer and public information officer City of Albert Lea; Paula Michel: Secretary Harmony Arts Board; Judy Saye-Willis: visual artist and former director Faribault Art Center; Steven Schmidt: musician and General Manager City of Rochester Music Department.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Scott Anderson: musician; Liz Bucheit: owner/artist Crown Trout Jewelers; Alan Calavano: president Rochester Male Chorus; Judy Hickey: board Children's Dance Theatre; William Hoy: playwright and songwriter; Katie Hae Leo: Minnesota State Arts Board Cultural Community Liaison; Kathy Rush: Lockwood Theatre Company; Jon Swanson; curator Minnesota Marine Art Museum; Phil Taylor: visual artist; Loretta Verbout; board secretary Mantorville Art Guild.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed
Conflict of Interest Contact
Southeastern Minnesota Arts Council, Robin Pearson (507) 281-4848