Minnesota's Legacy

Arts and Cultural Heritage

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Project FINE
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
June 2017
End Date
May 2018
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2015 Special Session, chapter 2, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access ACHF Arts Education ACHF Cultural Heritage

2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

15 people will attend storytelling workshops and 7 digital stories will be created and recorded. 50 people will attend the capstone event. Several methods will be used to measure the outcomes above, including: Collection of stories; Surveys of participants following each workshop; and feedback from partners, volunteers and staff.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Yes, these goals were met. 15 people will attend storytelling workshops (16 attended) and 7 digital stories will be created and recorded (7 stories created). 50 people will attend the capstone event (60 attended).

Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Hamid Akbari, Jeff Apse, Heather Bach, Sammy Gondola, Dale Hinckley, Robin Hoeg, David Kramer, Pedro Lopez, Dan Matejka, Paul Mundt, Brian Voerding, Joel Von Haden
Project Overview

Arts and Cultural Heritage

Project Details

Hearing the Voices: Digital Edition

Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Project FINE
Street Address
202 3rd St W
Zip Code
(507) 452-4100
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications

Kjel Alkire: art faculty at Saint Mary's University of Minnesota; John Becker: art business owner; Diane Crane: visual artist; Hal Cropp: Executive Director of Commonweal Theatre; Daved Driscoll: Executive Director of Northland Words; Julie Fakler: Director of Operations at Paradise Center for the Arts; Lee Gundersheimer: theatre artist and director; Connie Nelson: music educator; Jane Olive: costumer; Steve Schmidt: musician, arts administrator.

Advisory Group Members and Qualifications

Scott Anderson: musician; Andrea Gaffke: artist; Judy Hickey: arts administrator; Susan Joyce: author; David Kassler: composer; Marie Maher: arts administrator; Carter Martin: theatre artist; Beth Nienow: literary artist; Kathleen Peterson: playwright; Mary Ruth: visual artist; Jon Swanson: arts administrator.

Conflict of Interest Disclosed
Conflict of Interest Contact

Southeastern Minnesota Arts Council, Robin Pearson (507) 281-4848