Arts and Cultural Heritage

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Northfield Public Schools AKA Northfield High School
Recipient Type
K-12 Education
Start Date
September 2017
End Date
May 2018
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2015 Special Session, chapter 2, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access ACHF Arts Education

2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

The program provides access to and participation in the art of public sculpture to more people. The City secures a prominent location for displaying public art made by students. The community anticipates each unveiling and benefits educationally. In order to evaluate our goals for this grant, we intend to gather stories from student/artist participants, conduct interviews with local citizens and collect data showing attendance numbers at the capstone event.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Students used new art materials and processes beyond curricular offerings. Students enthusiastically applied for and participated in the creation of a collaborative large-scale public sculpture, and endearingly celebrated the outcome at the capstone event

Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Margaret Colangelo, Amy Goerwitz, Rob Hardy, Ellen Iverson, Julie Pritchard, Jeff Quinnell, Noel Stratmoen
Project Overview

Arts and Cultural Heritage

Project Details

Young Sculptors' Project

Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Northfield Public Schools AKA Northfield High School
Street Address
1400 Division St S
Zip Code
(507) 663-0600
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications

Kjel Alkire: art faculty at Saint Mary's University of Minnesota; John Becker: art business owner; Diane Crane: visual artist; Hal Cropp: Executive Director of Commonweal Theatre; Daved Driscoll: Executive Director of Northland Words; Julie Fakler: Director of Operations at Paradise Center for the Arts; Lee Gundersheimer: theatre artist and director; Connie Nelson: music educator; Jane Olive: costumer; Steve Schmidt: musician, arts administrator.

Advisory Group Members and Qualifications

Scott Anderson: musician; Andrea Gaffke: artist; Judy Hickey: arts administrator; Susan Joyce: author; David Kassler: composer; Marie Maher: arts administrator; Carter Martin: theatre artist; Beth Nienow: literary artist; Kathleen Peterson: playwright; Mary Ruth: visual artist; Jon Swanson: arts administrator.

Conflict of Interest Disclosed
Conflict of Interest Contact

Southeastern Minnesota Arts Council, Robin Pearson (507) 281-4848