Arts and Cultural Heritage

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2014 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Matchbox Children's Theatre
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
June 2014
End Date
August 2014
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2013, Chapter 137, Article 4, Section 2, Subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access ACHF Arts Education

2014 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

We evaluate our success in many ways: increasing class attendance; addition of new artists; increased sales of artistic works and the receipt of increases sales commissions.The methods that we use to measure out outcomes are through data collection (class attendance, gallery sales, and physical count of visitors to our gallery on a daily basis), requests for additional classes via email, telephone or personal contact.

Measurable Outcome(s)

To provide a full-staged professional, theatrical dance production for area dancers to participate in at an affordable cost. Participation fees did not increase for the dancers during and the fees were reduced slightly for the youngest dancers. The number of dancers participating remained consistent with the past several years' productions.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Lynn Charls, Melisa Ferris, Cheryl Frarck, Theresa Hoaglund, MaryLee Lambert, Jane Olive, Loretta Verbout
Project Overview
Arts and Cultural Heritage
Project Details
Mantorville Art Guild Kids Summer Camps
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Matchbox Children's Theatre
Street Address
328 N Main St PO Box 576
Zip Code
(507) 437-9078
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Hal Cropp: Executive Director Commonweal Theatre Company; Daved Driscoll: Artistic Director Northland Words-Words Players Theatre; Drue Fergison: musicologist with dance and literary expertise; Teresa Kauffmann: photographer and public information officer City of Albert Lea; Paula Michel: Secretary Harmony Arts Board; Judy Saye-Willis: visual artist and former director Faribault Art Center; Steven Schmidt: musician and General Manager City of Rochester Music Department.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Scott Anderson: musician; Liz Bucheit: owner/artist Crown Trout Jewelers; Alan Calavano: president Rochester Male Chorus; Judy Hickey: board Children's Dance Theatre; William Hoy: playwright and songwriter; Katie Hae Leo: Minnesota State Arts Board Cultural Community Liaison; Kathy Rush: Lockwood Theatre Company; Jon Swanson; curator Minnesota Marine Art Museum; Phil Taylor: visual artist; Loretta Verbout; board secretary Mantorville Art Guild.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed
Conflict of Interest Contact
Southeastern Minnesota Arts Council, Robin Pearson (507) 281-4848