Arts and Cultural Heritage

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Eagle Bluff Environmental Learning Center
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
December 2016
End Date
June 2017
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2015 Special Session, chapter 2, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access ACHF Arts Education

2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

Stringwood was created to provide high quality, experiential chamber music education and audience-engaged concert performances in six different venues in Southeast Minnesota. 95% of the 292 hours of activities are FREE to the public. All Stringwood concerts and master classes are audio/video recorded. Audience members are counted and canvassed after events. Participants provide verbal input at the annual camp meeting. Notes from the meeting are recorded and shared among faculty.

Measurable Outcome(s)

One goal achieved was to maintain our audience base numbers. We also wanted to develop closer ties with people and businesses in Lanesboro. Lanesboro Art Gallery will host performances next summer, and new partner Cafe Congo in Winona is terrific!

Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Charlie Brown, Lynn Brown, Terri Burkel, Dan Christianson, Bruce Frutiger, Fred Kiel, Dave Kolbert, Bethany Krom, Carol Lammers, Barb Mielke, Richard Nethercut, Kylie Osterhus, Mark Owens, Barb Owens, Ian Scheerer, Natasha Yates
Project Overview

Arts and Cultural Heritage

Project Details

2017 Stringwood Chamber Music Festival

Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Eagle Bluff Environmental Learning Center
Street Address
28097 Goodview Dr
Zip Code
(608) 467-2437
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications

Kjel Alkire: art faculty at Saint Mary's University of Minnesota; John Becker: art business owner; Hal Cropp: Executive Director of Commonweal Theatre; Daved Driscoll: Executive Director of Northland Words; Julie Fakler: Director of Operations at Paradise Center for the Arts; Drue Fergison: linguist, writer; Lee Gundersheimer: theatre artist and director; Connie Nelson: music educator; Jane Olive: costumer; Steve Schmidt: musician, arts administrator.

Advisory Group Members and Qualifications

Andrea Gaffke: artist; Judy Hickey: arts administrator; David Kassler: composer; Marie Maher: arts administrator; Carter Martin, arts administrator; Kathy Peterson: playwright; Mary Ruth: artist; Jon Swanson: arts administrator.

Conflict of Interest Disclosed