Arts and Cultural Heritage

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Austin Area Commission for the Arts AKA Historic Paramount Theatre
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
December 2016
End Date
November 2017
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2015 Special Session, chapter 2, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

With a schedule of 43 Kids Studio classes at $5 per child, the Austin Area Commission for the Arts will provide access to participation in the arts for more Minnesotans. Austin Area Commission for the Arts projects an increase from 129 child-hours of education in 2015 to an estimated 645 child-hours in 2017. Data collection: number of unique children served, number of classes, class attendance, and number of unique instructors. Video recordings of the classes for review by staff and board. Focus groups of children, parents and instructors.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Classes - Expected: 43 Delivered: 42; Child-hours of education - Expected: 645 Delivered: 789 (+22%); Participating artists - Expected: 10 Delivered: 11; Participating youth - Expected: 160 Delivered: 201 (+25%).

Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Greg Davis, Randy Kramer, Gretchen Ramlo, Ward Robinson, Celeste Ruble, Chad Sayles, Belita Schindler, Marlene Schlichter, Mary Anne Wolesky
Project Overview

Arts and Cultural Heritage

Project Details

Kids Visual Arts Education 2017

Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Austin Area Commission for the Arts
Street Address
300 Main St N
Zip Code
(507) 434-0934
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications

Kjel Alkire: art faculty at Saint Mary's University of Minnesota; John Becker: art business owner; Hal Cropp: Executive Director of Commonweal Theatre; Daved Driscoll: Executive Director of Northland Words; Julie Fakler: Director of Operations at Paradise Center for the Arts; Drue Fergison: linguist, writer; Lee Gundersheimer: theatre artist and director; Connie Nelson: music educator; Jane Olive: costumer; Steve Schmidt: musician, arts administrator.

Advisory Group Members and Qualifications

Andrea Gaffke: artist; Judy Hickey: arts administrator; David Kassler: composer; Marie Maher: arts administrator; Carter Martin, arts administrator; Kathy Peterson: playwright; Mary Ruth: artist; Jon Swanson: arts administrator.

Conflict of Interest Disclosed