Arts and Cultural Heritage

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Anderson Center for Interdisciplinary Studies, Inc. AKA The Anderson Center
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
September 2017
End Date
December 2017
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2015 Special Session, chapter 2, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access ACHF Arts Education ACHF Cultural Heritage

2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

Provide access to participation in the arts for more Minnesotans. Recognize and address real or perceived barriers to participation in the arts. 1. Surveys, 2. Interviews, 3. Observed behavior change, 4. Data collection.

Measurable Outcome(s)

A broad local audience was introduced to the work of two of the country's most admired and accomplished African American poets

Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Ralph Balestriere, John Christiansen, Sean Dowse, Carolyn Hedin, Robert Hedin, Marilyn Lawrence, James Lenfestey, Fiona McCrae, Karen Mueller, Peg Noesen
Project Overview

Arts and Cultural Heritage

Project Details

Poetry Reading with Afaa Michael Weaver and Marcus Wicker

Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Anderson Center for Interdisciplinary Studies, Inc. AKA The Anderson Center
Street Address
163 Tower View Dr
Red Wing
Zip Code
(651) 388-2009
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications

Kjel Alkire: art faculty at Saint Mary's University of Minnesota; John Becker: art business owner; Diane Crane: visual artist; Hal Cropp: Executive Director of Commonweal Theatre; Daved Driscoll: Executive Director of Northland Words; Julie Fakler: Director of Operations at Paradise Center for the Arts; Lee Gundersheimer: theatre artist and director; Connie Nelson: music educator; Jane Olive: costumer; Steve Schmidt: musician, arts administrator.

Advisory Group Members and Qualifications

Scott Anderson: musician; Andrea Gaffke: artist; Judy Hickey: arts administrator; Susan Joyce: author; David Kassler: composer; Marie Maher: arts administrator; Carter Martin: theatre artist; Beth Nienow: literary artist; Kathleen Peterson: playwright; Mary Ruth: visual artist; Jon Swanson: arts administrator.

Conflict of Interest Disclosed
Conflict of Interest Contact

Southeastern Minnesota Arts Council, Robin Pearson (507) 281-4848