Arts Activities Support

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2018 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
The Friends of the Saint Paul Public Library
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
In Progress
Start Date
August 2018
End Date
February 2019
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2017 Regular Session, chapter 91, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2018 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

At least 275 people attend author presentations by six writers, with a goal of attracting 15% new audience members for the series. Attendees will indicate through event and follow-up surveys that they are more likely to attend additional literary events and read/search out books by Minnesota writers as a result of this programming. Attendees will also indicate a greater understanding of the range of Minnesota literature and the writing process. Participating artists will indicate through follow-up surveys that the events exposed them to new audiences. Anticipated outcomes will be evaluated through audience/participant count and demographics, audience surveys, and follow-up artist surveys. Both quantitative and qualitative data about the arts experiences will be captured.

Source of Additional Funds

Other,local or private

Project Overview

Arts Activities Support

Project Details

Fireside Reading Series

Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
The Friends of the Saint Paul Public Library
Street Address
1080 Montreal Ave Ste 2
St Paul
Zip Code
(651) 222-3242
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications

Julie Andersen: Eagan Art House Executive Director; Marisol Chiclana-Ayala: Artist, Board Chair El Arco Iris; Tricia Heuring: Public Functionary Executive Director; Dayna Martinez: Ordway Center for the Performing Arts; Colleen McLaughlin: Arts Midwest Vice President for Advancement; Tom Moffatt: Silverwood Park Supervisor; Osman Mohamed Ali: Somali Museum of MN Founder and Executive Director; See More Perspective: Artist; Heather Rutledge: ArtReach St. Croix Executive Director; Andrea Sjogren: Hopkins Community Education Adult and Youth Programs Coordinator; Lynne Bertalmio: Retired Director Stillwater Public Library; Wendy Lane: Retired Human Resources Consultant; Donna Saul Millen: TPT-Twin Cities PBS Events Director; Sara Wilson: Gislason and Hunter, LLP Attorney; Alejandra Iannone: Sparkle Theatricals Creative Co-Director; Deanna StandingCloud: Tiwahe Foundation Program and Community Network Director; Adaobi Okolue: Twin Cities Media Alliance Executive Director; Wu Chen Khoo: Technical Tools of the Trade: Stage Technical Designer and Director.

Advisory Group Members and Qualifications

Alejandra Tobar Alatriz: Artistic, Community Service, Development, Organizational Development; Alison Goetzman: Volunteerism, Finance, General Administration; Anton Jones: Artistic, Education, Community Service, Development; Christopher Bineham: General Management, Administration, Fundraising, Artistic; Dana Mattice: General Administration, Fundraising, Artistic; Emily Cole-Jones: Fundraising, Artistic, Youth Programming; Lara Cornell: Education, General Administration, Organizational Development; Yang Mee Moua Yang: Education, Disabilities Specialist, Artistic.

Conflict of Interest Disclosed