Arts Activities Support

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2018 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Bollywood Dance Scene
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
June 2018
End Date
September 2018
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2017 Regular Session, chapter 91, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2018 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

At least 120 adult artists will participate in the festival, at least 1800 spectators will attend the festival (~50% of whom are of European descent and ~50% of whom are from minority populations), and 50% of the performers who reported a lack of integration into Minnesota will report an improvement. At least 50% of BDS performers will be immigrants/POC and will have performed at least ten art forms from at least two countries. We will evaluate event outcomes as they relate to our artistic and community goals through careful tracking of various aspects of the festival including attendance, performers, and art forms presented. We will present two surveys, one designed for participants to be taken after the festival, and another designed for the audience which will be administered by volunteers via iPad after performances.

Source of Additional Funds

Other,local or private

Project Overview

Arts Activities Support

Project Details

MinneUtsav: a Bollywood Performing Arts Festival

Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Bollywood Dance Scene
Street Address
PO Box 8634
Zip Code
(952) 381-2572
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications

Julie Andersen: Eagan Art House Executive Director; Marisol Chiclana-Ayala: Artist, Board Chair El Arco Iris; Tricia Heuring: Public Functionary Executive Director; Dayna Martinez: Ordway Center for the Performing Arts; Colleen McLaughlin: Arts Midwest Vice President for Advancement; Tom Moffatt: Silverwood Park Supervisor; Osman Mohamed Ali: Somali Museum of MN Founder and Executive Director; See More Perspective: Artist; Heather Rutledge: ArtReach St. Croix Executive Director; Andrea Sjogren: Hopkins Community Education Adult and Youth Programs Coordinator; Lynne Bertalmio: Retired Director Stillwater Public Library; Wendy Lane: Retired Human Resources Consultant; Donna Saul Millen: TPT-Twin Cities PBS Events Director; Sara Wilson: Gislason and Hunter, LLP Attorney; Alejandra Iannone: Sparkle Theatricals Creative Co-Director; Deanna StandingCloud: Tiwahe Foundation Program and Community Network Director.

Advisory Group Members and Qualifications

Ahmed Anzald·a: Artistic, Audience Development, Marketing, Organizational Development; Angela Bernhardt: Fundraising, General Management, Administration, Community Service, Development; Courtney Kupsch: Youth Programming, Audience Development, Marketing, Fundraising; Dee Baskin: Community Education, Volunteerism, Audience Development, Marketing; Kate Tucker: General Administration, Fundraising, Education; Melissa Clark: Artistic, Community Education, Computer Systems, Web Design; Richie Yang: Artistic, Education, Community Education; Victoria Pyan: Artistic, Finance, Community Service, Development.

Conflict of Interest Disclosed