Arts Activities Support

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2018 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
In Progress
Start Date
July 2018
End Date
May 2019
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2017 Regular Session, chapter 91, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2018 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

Growing our audience at each open mic (Measured by asking community 'How many of you are new to The Free Black Table Open Mic') Getting more diverse in artistic discipline. Getting diverse talent on stage. Not just writers but singers, comedians and musicians. We plan to do this by mentioning this effort in our promotion on social media and flyers. (Measured by asking and taking note on how many audience members are poet's, dancers, singers, etc) Building power by connecting community (Measured by simple easy to do exit surveys 'How many of you made an important connection during this event tonight') We will evaluate our project as related to the stated artistic goals via creative surveys as people converse after the open mic. Surveys will speak to if participants experienced a wide range of talent during the event and if they would recommend this event to a friend or neighbor.

Source of Additional Funds

Other,local or private

Project Overview

Arts Activities Support

Project Details

The Free Black Table Open Mic

Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Street Address
275 4th St E
St Paul
Zip Code
(651) 785-6268
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications

Julie Andersen: Eagan Art House Executive Director; Marisol Chiclana-Ayala: Artist, Board Chair El Arco Iris; Tricia Heuring: Public Functionary Executive Director; Dayna Martinez: Ordway Center for the Performing Arts; Colleen McLaughlin: Arts Midwest Vice President for Advancement; Tom Moffatt: Silverwood Park Supervisor; Osman Mohamed Ali: Somali Museum of MN Founder and Executive Director; See More Perspective: Artist; Heather Rutledge: ArtReach St. Croix Executive Director; Andrea Sjogren: Hopkins Community Education Adult and Youth Programs Coordinator; Lynne Bertalmio: Retired Director Stillwater Public Library; Wendy Lane: Retired Human Resources Consultant; Donna Saul Millen: TPT-Twin Cities PBS Events Director; Sara Wilson: Gislason and Hunter, LLP Attorney; Alejandra Iannone: Sparkle Theatricals Creative Co-Director; Deanna StandingCloud: Tiwahe Foundation Program and Community Network Director; Adaobi Okolue: Twin Cities Media Alliance Executive Director; Wu Chen Khoo: Technical Tools of the Trade: Stage Technical Designer and Director.

Advisory Group Members and Qualifications

Amy Dillahunt: Fundraising, General Administration, Organizational Development; Anne Adabra: Artistic, Education; Diana Johnson, Education, Youth Programming; Jenn Marshall: Education, Artistic, General Management, Administration; Jenny Moeller: Artistic, General Administration, Education; Maria Lopez: Organizational Development, Fundraising, Community Service, Development; Nimo Farah: Community Education, Artistic, Organizational Development; Teresa Audet: Artistic, Organizational Development, Education.

Conflict of Interest Disclosed