Arts Activities Support

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2018 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Black Storytellers Alliance
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
September 2018
End Date
September 2018
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2017 Regular Session, chapter 91, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2018 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

At least 1,00 persons attend the Festival over the three-days of events interacting with the fifteen artists and at least 85% kf the audience report that they had a positive or very positive experience to which they would return and recommend to their family and friends. We will use both an audience count and a survey instrument to capture evaluations of the event by audience members.

Source of Additional Funds

Other,local or private

Project Overview

Arts Activities Support

Project Details

27th Annual Black Storytellers Alliance Storytelling Festival, "Signifyin' and Testifyin'"

Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Black Storytellers Alliance
Street Address
1112 Newton Ave N
Zip Code
(612) 529-5864
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications

Julie Andersen: Eagan Art House Executive Director; Marisol Chiclana-Ayala: Artist, Board Chair El Arco Iris; Tricia Heuring: Public Functionary Executive Director; Dayna Martinez: Ordway Center for the Performing Arts; Colleen McLaughlin: Arts Midwest Vice President for Advancement; Tom Moffatt: Silverwood Park Supervisor; Osman Mohamed Ali: Somali Museum of MN Founder and Executive Director; See More Perspective: Artist; Heather Rutledge: ArtReach St. Croix Executive Director; Andrea Sjogren: Hopkins Community Education Adult and Youth Programs Coordinator; Lynne Bertalmio: Retired Director Stillwater Public Library; Wendy Lane: Retired Human Resources Consultant; Donna Saul Millen: TPT-Twin Cities PBS Events Director; Sara Wilson: Gislason and Hunter, LLP Attorney; Alejandra Iannone: Sparkle Theatricals Creative Co-Director; Deanna StandingCloud: Tiwahe Foundation Program and Community Network Director.

Advisory Group Members and Qualifications

Ahmed Anzald·a: Artistic, Audience Development, Marketing, Organizational Development; Angela Bernhardt: Fundraising, General Management, Administration, Community Service, Development; Courtney Kupsch: Youth Programming, Audience Development, Marketing, Fundraising; Dee Baskin: Community Education, Volunteerism, Audience Development, Marketing; Kate Tucker: General Administration, Fundraising, Education; Melissa Clark: Artistic, Community Education, Computer Systems, Web Design; Richie Yang: Artistic, Education, Community Education; Victoria Pyan: Artistic, Finance, Community Service, Development.

Conflict of Interest Disclosed