Minnesota's Legacy

Arts Activities Support

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Minnesota Prison Writing Workshop
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
July 2017
End Date
December 2017
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2015 Special Session, chapter 2, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

We will attract 60 news students to Minnesota Prison Writing Workshop's programming through 5 high-quality creative writing classes in 4 facilities. All participants will have a high quality arts experience, be given the opportunity to produce several pieces of polished work, and learn craft basics. We will evaluate this project on an ongoing basis through instructor feedback on student work and artistic growth. At the end of each class, instructors will administer formal evaluations to students, which will be compiled and assessed by the advisory committee to ensure that goals were met.

Measurable Outcome(s)

96% of students reported that they "have the tools [they] need to continue writing after this class is over,” indicating preparedness for their future artistic endeavors. 14 of the 67 students are continuing their writing through MPWW's mentor program, evidence that their class helped instill in them an ongoing habit of art.

Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Mike Alberti, Jennifer Bowen Hicks, Michael Kleber-Diggs, Mary Stein, Paul Van Dyke
Project Overview

Arts Activities Support

Project Details

Introductory creative writing classes in four Metro Area prisons.

Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Minnesota Prison Writing Workshop
Street Address
PO Box 7262
Zip Code
(505) 730-3582
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications

Julie Andersen: Eagan Art House Executive Director; Bethany Brunsell: Music teacher, performer; Shelly Chamberlain: Minnesota Council of Nonprofits Operations Director; Marisol Chiclana-Ayla: Artist, Board Chair at El Arco Iris; Jamil Jude: Theatre artist; Tricia Khutoretsky: Public Functionary Curator and Co-Director; Peter Leggett: Walker West Music Academy Executive Director; Dayna Martinez: Ordway Center for the Performing Arts; Coleen McLaughlin: Arts Midwest Director of External Relations; Tom Moffatt: Silverwood Park Supervisor; Osman Mohamed Ali: Somali Museum of Minnesota Founder and Executive Director; Kathy Mouacheupao: Twin Cities Local Initiatives Support, Corporation Cultural Corridor Coordinator; Adam Napoli-Rangel: Artist; Heather Rutledge: ArtReach Saint Croix Executive Director; Djenane Saint Juste: Afoutayi Dance Company Founder; Andrea Sjogren: Hopkins Public Schools Youth Programs Coordinator; Dameun Strange: Composer, Performer; Melissa Wright: Twin Cities Public Television.

Advisory Group Members and Qualifications

Heather Barringer: Artistic, general management, administration, finance, audit; Ann Spencer: Fundraising, general administration, artistic; Delta Giordano: Artistic, education, volunteerism; Amanda Rodriguez: Artistic, general administration, audience development, marketing; Audrey Park: Community education, general administration, audience development, marketing; Keno Evol: Education, community education, artistic; Johnnay Leenay: General administration, community service, development, artistic; Wendy Lane: Artistic, general administration, organizational development; Taylor Rose: Artistic, education, volunteerism.

Conflict of Interest Disclosed