Arts Activities Support

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Dakota Center for the Arts AKA Eagan Art Festival
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
September 2016
End Date
August 2017
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2015 Special Session, chapter 2, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

It is hoped that in this project the audience attendance will exceed 8000 participants with 400 participants in the Community Art Project and 600 participants in the Children's Art Project. In the artist survey to have an 85% return rate listed for the artists which will show that we have the right audience supporting the work of the visual artists and musicians. Each year we have a volunteer that is clicking in the number of guests at the door with an hour by hour total to track attendees, in addition staff click in participants at the community art activity and the children's activity for total counts at the end of the two days. Each year there is a survey handed out to artists to track satisfaction with the show. We are working to figure out a way to get more direct feedback from audiences and are considering an open on-line survey.

Measurable Outcome(s)

The festival had over 9200 visitors this year, record breaking attendance and a 19% increase over last year. 650 children learned about radial design and balance in the Children's Tent and 1000 plus visitors made their mark on the plexiglass community art project. 90% of artists said they would like to return next year. The event exceeded expectation with regards to diverse population.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Wanda Borman, Lydia Ferguson, Yvette Johnson, Brenda Lyseng, Navin Mahavijiyan, Jerri Neddermeyer, Juliet Parisi, Wayne Sames, Karen Sames, Katherine Freije Thompson, Barb Graycarek
Project Overview
Arts Activities Support
Project Details
Funding for the 23rd Annual Eagan Art Festival, a free two-day outdoor festival featuring a broad range of artists, entertainment, and hands-on art activities for all ages. The festival will take place on the Eagan Festival Grounds adjacent to the Eagan C
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Dakota Center for the Arts AKA Eagan Art Festival
Street Address
PO Box 211609
Zip Code
(651) 343-7159
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Julie Andersen: Eagan Art House Executive Director; Bethany Brunsell: Music teacher and performer; Shelly Chamberlain: Minnesota Council of Nonprofits Operations Director; Marisol Chiclana-Ayla: Artist, Board Chair of El Arco Iris; Jamil Jude: Theatre artist; Tricia Khutoretsky: Public Functionary Curator and Co-Director; Peter Leggett: Walker West Music Academy Executive Director; Dayna Martinez: Ordway Center for the Performing Arts Artistic Director of World Music and Dance and the International Children’s Festival; Coleen McLaughlin: Arts Midwest Director of External Relations; Tom Moffatt: Silverwood Park Supervisor; Osman Mohamed Ali: Somali Museum of Minnesota Founder and Executive Director; Kathy Mouacheupao: Twin Cities Local Initiatives Support Corporation Cultural Corridor Coordinator; Adam Napoli-Rangel: Artist; Heather Rutledge: ArtReach Saint Croix Executive Director; Djenane Saint Juste: Afoutayi Dance Company Founder; Andrea Sjogren: Hopkins Public Schools Youth Programs Coordinator; Dameun Strange: Composer and performer; Melissa Wright: Twin Cities Public Television.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Susan Rotilie: Education, artistic, volunteerism; Craig Harris: Organizational development, administration, artistic; Alan Berks: Artistic, marketing, education; Jeff Hnilicka: Youth programming, administration, artistic; Laura Sindberg: Education, artistic, youth programming; Elissa Schufman: Fundraising, computer systems, volunteerism; Nasibu Sareva: Administration, fundraising, community service; Sophie Liu-Othmer: Community Education, community service, administration; Aron Lorber: Artistic, education, organizational development.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed