Minnesota's Legacy

Arts Activities Support

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2015 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Minnesota Music Coalition
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
October 2014
End Date
April 2015
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2011, First Special Session, chapter 6, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2015 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

The primary artistic goal for the Minnesota Music Summit is to facilitate a dynamic intersection for emerging musicians from across the state, established musicians from the Twin Cities and audiences hungry to hear new Minnesota Music. We will accomplish this goal by presenting concerts, artist workshops, a national keynote speaker, networking opportunities and one-on-one mentoring sessions with industry professionals as part of a 3-day free festival. With the addition of a high-profile national keynote speaker, the presentation of the Minnesota Music Supporter Award, we hope to boost attendance from about 600 people last year to more than 800 this year. Last year everyone who responded to our survey, said they thought the workshops were of good or high quality. We hope to have similarly great feedback on this year's programs.The Minnesota Music Summit was conceived and designed as a result of our first Caravan du Nord, in response to evaluation, feedback and successes of that endeavor. As we enter our fourth year of the Minnesota Music Summit, we continue to build on the program based on artist and participant feedback. The Minnesota Music Coalition will continue to evaluate the success of this project both qualitatively and quantitatively. To track attendance, we will do both a head count and an email sign-in at the networking events and workshops. The Amsterdam staff track total number of concert attendees that come through the door. We will provide written surveys to participating artists after the Summit is over, a method that has worked well in the past. We will also measure the quality of the event through comments on our social media as well as through informal conversations and post-event meetings with Minnesota Music Coalition staff, Board and partnering organizations.

Measurable Outcome(s)

As we had hoped, this year's Minnesota Music Summit drew over 800 people who came from all over Minnesota, Wisconsin and Iowa. And, as we post more videos from the event, we'll be able to reach many more artists, fans and industry professionals. 100% of survey respondents said that they had an excellent experience and that they were very likely to recommend the event to other artists.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Tony Mendoza, Chuck Hermes, Beth Burns, Dan DeVoe, Mark Gehring, Ashley Hanson, John Munson, Chris Osgood, Jessica Paxton, Mark Stutrud, Brian Turner, Andrew Volna
Project Overview
Arts Activities Support
Project Details
Funding for the 4th annual Minnesota Music Summit, a free festival for artists, fans and those working in the music industry featuring workshops, mentoring sessions, a national keynote speaker and concerts showcasing top artists and emerging bands. Activities will take place at McNally Smith College of Music, Amsterdam Bar and Hall and Summit Brewing in April 2015.
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Minnesota Music Coalition
Street Address
75 5th St W Ste 402
St Paul
Zip Code
(651) 347-1662
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Julie Andersen: Eagan Art House Executive Director; Jill Anfang: Roseville Parks and Recreation Program Director; Bethany Brunsell: Music Teacher and Performer; Kathy Busch: Realtor, Shakopee School Board Member; Shelly Chamberlain: Minnesota Council of Nonprofits Operations Director; Joan Elwell: Lakeshore Players Executive Director; Mary Erickson: Independent School District 112 Community Education; Anthony Galloway: Actor, Storyteller, West Metro Education Program; Jamil Jude: Theatre Artist; Peter Leggett: Walker West Music Academy Executive Director; Dayna Martinez: Ordway Center for the Performing Arts; Colleen McLaughlin: Arts Midwest Director of External Relations; Tom Moffatt: Silverwood Park Supervisor; Christine Murakami Noonan: Minnesota State Fair Foundation; Heather Rutledge: ArtReach Saint Croix Executive Director; Rachel Smoka-Richardson: Children's Theatre Company Development Officer; Dameun Strange: Composer and Performer; Melissa Wright: Twin Cities Public Television.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Susan Rotilie: Education, Artistic, Volunteerism; Daniel Pinkerton: Artistic; Reona Berry: Artistic; Dana Prottas: Education; Jennifer Newell: Fundraising; Taja Will: Artistic, Administration; Lauren Dee: Marketing, Web Design, Organizational Development, Youth Programming.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed
Conflict of Interest Contact
Metropolitan Regional Arts Council, Jeff Prauer (651) 645-0402