Minnesota's Legacy

Arts Activities Support

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2012 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Singers Minnesota Choral Artists AKA The Singers-Minnesota Choral Artists
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
March 2012
End Date
April 2012
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2011, First Special Session, chapter 6, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2012 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

To bring 3 nationally-acclaimed contemporary composers to Minnesota audiences and presenting 2 performances in partnership with the Artaria String Quartet.Ticket sales; total concert attendance; CD sales at the event; critical response; member and audience feedback; audience surveys.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Presented the works of nationally acclaimed composers David Lang, Tarik O-Regan, and Nico Muhly to new audiences in the metro area.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Teresa Elsbernd, Bruce Gleason, Dean Gesme, Karna Rice, Maureen Armstrong, Carolyn Collins, Fr Patrick Hipwell, Gary Lehr, Mary Kirchner, Nancy Rotenberry, Jacqueline Steele, John Steinke, Cynthia Tambornino, Colin Wicker, John McDaris, Dr. Matthew Cullot
Project Overview
New Landscapes: Lang, Muhly and O'Regan
Project Details
Funding to present New Landscapes: Lang, Muhly and OÆRegan, a concert of works by three composers who have influenced contemporary American choral music. The organization will partner with Artaria String Quartet for two performances in April 2012.
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Singers Minnesota Choral Artists AKA The Singers-Minnesota Choral Artists
Street Address
528 Hennepin Ave Ste 303
Zip Code
(651) 917-1948
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Bart Buch: Puppet artist, Hinterhands Puppet Company; Jeff Hnilicka: Executive Director, Kulture Klub Collaborative; Jason Jaglo: Visual artist and graphic designer for Target Corporation; Janice Johnson: Ordway Center for the Performing Arts staff; Jonna Kosalko: Coldwell Banker Burnet; Elise Marubbio: Associate Professor of Women's Studies, Augsburg College; Libby Tschida: Arts administrator, East Side Arts Council.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Jill Anfang: City of Roseville assistant parks and recreation director; Heather Beal: free-lance architectural writer; Melissa Brechon: retired Carver County Library system director; Kathy Busch: realtor, Shakopee School Board member; Shelly Chamberlain: Minnesota Council of Nonprofits director of operations and human resources; Paul Creager: Gordon Parks High School teacher and administrator, Square Lake Film Festival director; Erika Eklund: Playwrights'Center director of external relations; Joan Elwell: Lakeshore Players Community Theatre Managing Director; Kristi Gaudette: Prior Lake-Savage school district program specialist; Peter Leggett: Walker West Music Academy executive director; Christine Murakami Noonan: Minnesota State Fair Foundation Project Manager; Rachel Smoka-Richardson: Childrens Theatre Company director of institutional giving; Margaret Rog: free-lance grant writer and organizational development consultant; Beth Starbuck: retired consultant; Dameun Strange: free-lance musician and composer; Melissa Wright: William Mitchell College of Law assistant director of Career and Professional Development.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed