Minnesota's Legacy

Arts Activities Support

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2012 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Minnesota Jewish Theatre Company
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
September 2011
End Date
December 2011
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2011, First Special Session, chapter 6, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2012 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

To produce a top-quality regional premiere; to educate about a little-known historical event; to engage a diverse audience to look at racism; to foster understanding and tolerance.Feedback from audiences and artists; press reviews; audience surveys.

Measurable Outcome(s)

12 performances of the regional premiere of Our Class were presented at the Hillcrest Center in St Paul.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Frank Abramson, Barbara Brooks, Curt Brown, Julie Gordon Dalgleish, Miriam Goldfein, Ellery July, Rhoda Mains, Steve Machov, Mary Pickard, James Rosenbaum, Susan Albrecht, Patricia Cummings, Myrna Marofsky, Philip Oxman, Lawrence Zelle
Project Overview

Our Class

Project Details

Funding for the regional premiere of Our Class. Performances will take place at the Hillcrest Recreation Center in October and November 2011.

Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Minnesota Jewish Theatre Company
Street Address
PO Box 16155
St Paul
Zip Code
(651) 647-4315
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications

Theresa Downing: independent art curator; Mary Grace Flannery: Arts administrator, Nimbus Theatre; Greg Herriges: Musician, Indian Music Society of Minnesota; Heidi Larson: Minnesota Orchestral Association staff; Abby Marcus: General Manager, Playwrights' Center; Marya Morstad: Arts administrator, Mizna.

Advisory Group Members and Qualifications

Jill Anfang: City of Roseville assistant parks and recreation director; Heather Beal: free-lance architectural writer; Melissa Brechon: retired Carver County Library system director; Kathy Busch: realtor, Shakopee School Board member; Shelly Chamberlain: Minnesota Council of Nonprofits director of operations and human resources; Paul Creager: Gordon Parks High School teacher and administrator, Square Lake Film Festival director; Erika Eklund: Playwrights'Center director of external relations; Joan Elwell: Lakeshore Players Community Theatre Managing Director; Kristi Gaudette: Prior Lake-Savage school district program specialist; Peter Leggett: Walker West Music Academy executive director; Christine Murakami Noonan: Minnesota State Fair Foundation Project Manager; Rachel Smoka-Richardson: Childrens Theatre Company director of institutional giving; Margaret Rog: free-lance grant writer and organizational development consultant; Beth Starbuck: retired consultant; Dameun Strange: free-lance musician and composer; Melissa Wright: William Mitchell College of Law assistant director of Career and Professional Development.

Conflict of Interest Disclosed