Minnesota's Legacy

Arts Activities Support

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2012 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
JazzMN, Inc. AKA JazzMN Orchestra
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
December 2011
End Date
May 2012
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2011, First Special Session, chapter 6, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2012 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

To appeal to a broad audience; to expand audiences' appreciation of jazz through the introduction of both classic and contemporary works; to feature many talented musicians.Band, audience, board, and artistic director feedback.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Audiences were dazzled by the talent and extraordinary variety of the jazz musicians and their performances.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Grady Appleton, Robert Behrens, Joseph Fleischman, Terry Jaffoni, Mary Louise Knutson, William Mask, Davi Mendenhall, Dr. Douglas Snapp, Michael Stiegler, Adam Thimmesch, David Wagner, William Wells
Project Overview

The Caswell Sisters and Terell Stafford concerts

Project Details

Funding for two concerts as part of the organizationÆs 13th season of presenting classical and contemporary big band jazz. The concerts will feature The Caswell Sisters and Terell Stafford at the Performing Arts Center at Hopkins High School in March and April 2012.

Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
JazzMN, Inc. AKA JazzMN Orchestra
Street Address
PO Box 3790
Zip Code
(612) 242-4791
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications

Pat Cummings: Retired executive director of Phillips Family Foundation; Robin Gillette: Executive Director of Minnesota Fringe Festival; Ellery July: Technology consultant, former Northwest Area Foundation and United Way staff; John Megas: visual artist; Amy Miller: Ordway Center for the Performing Arts staff; Karis Sloss: Artistic Director of Eclectic Edge Ensemble; Jackie Starbird: Weisman Art Museum staff.

Advisory Group Members and Qualifications

Jill Anfang: City of Roseville assistant parks and recreation director; Heather Beal: free-lance architectural writer; Melissa Brechon: retired Carver County Library system director; Kathy Busch: realtor, Shakopee School Board member; Shelly Chamberlain: Minnesota Council of Nonprofits director of operations and human resources; Paul Creager: Gordon Parks High School teacher and administrator, Square Lake Film Festival director; Erika Eklund: Playwrights'Center director of external relations; Joan Elwell: Lakeshore Players Community Theatre Managing Director; Kristi Gaudette: Prior Lake-Savage school district program specialist; Peter Leggett: Walker West Music Academy executive director; Christine Murakami Noonan: Minnesota State Fair Foundation Project Manager; Rachel Smoka-Richardson: Childrens Theatre Company director of institutional giving; Margaret Rog: free-lance grant writer and organizational development consultant; Beth Starbuck: retired consultant; Dameun Strange: free-lance musician and composer; Melissa Wright: William Mitchell College of Law assistant director of Career and Professional Development.

Conflict of Interest Disclosed