Minnesota's Legacy

Arts Activities Support

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2012 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Dakota Valley Symphony
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
October 2011
End Date
May 2012
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2011, First Special Session, chapter 6, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2012 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

To build community by providing a variety of musical experiences with community partners; to provide opportunities for accomplished professional soloists and emerging young artists; to engage and expand the audience for the Dakota Valley Symphony.Feedback and assessment of the Music Director; audience and performer feedback; audience and member surveys; concert attendance.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Suburban residents availed themselves of opportunities to hear excellent orchestral playing and soloists, and the numbers of audience members continued to steadily increase over past seasons.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Jan Abraham, Michael Henly, Jennifer Inoue, Duane Jacobson, Doug Maloney, Beth Peterson, Laurie Senechal, Christi Springer, Deb Vigoren
Project Overview

Arts Activities Support

Project Details

Funding for five concerts in their 26th season. Concerts will take place at the Burnsville Performing Arts Center between December 2011 and May 2012.

Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Dakota Valley Symphony
Street Address
PO Box 1241
Zip Code
(952) 432-0493
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications

Bart Buch: Puppet artist, Hinterhands Puppet Company; Jeff Hnilicka: Executive Director, Kulture Klub Collaborative; Jason Jaglo: Visual artist and graphic designer for Target Corporation; Janice Johnson: Ordway Center for the Performing Arts staff; Jonna Kosalko: Coldwell Banker Burnet; Elise Marubbio: Associate Professor of Women's Studies, Augsburg College; Libby Tschida: Arts administrator, East Side Arts Council.

Advisory Group Members and Qualifications

Jill Anfang: City of Roseville assistant parks and recreation director; Heather Beal: free-lance architectural writer; Melissa Brechon: retired Carver County Library system director; Kathy Busch: realtor, Shakopee School Board member; Shelly Chamberlain: Minnesota Council of Nonprofits director of operations and human resources; Paul Creager: Gordon Parks High School teacher and administrator, Square Lake Film Festival director; Erika Eklund: Playwrights'Center director of external relations; Joan Elwell: Lakeshore Players Community Theatre Managing Director; Kristi Gaudette: Prior Lake-Savage school district program specialist; Peter Leggett: Walker West Music Academy executive director; Christine Murakami Noonan: Minnesota State Fair Foundation Project Manager; Rachel Smoka-Richardson: Childrens Theatre Company director of institutional giving; Margaret Rog: free-lance grant writer and organizational development consultant; Beth Starbuck: retired consultant; Dameun Strange: free-lance musician and composer; Melissa Wright: William Mitchell College of Law assistant director of Career and Professional Development.

Conflict of Interest Disclosed