Minnesota's Legacy

Arts Activities Support

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2012 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Weavers Guild of Minnesota
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
September 2011
End Date
June 2012
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2011, First Special Session, chapter 6, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2012 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

To reach new students in their own communities; to expand fiber arts in the Twin Cities; to ease the impact of light rail construction on students by offering classes at other locations; to develop collaboration class projects with community partners.The percentage of students who will take another class; student evaluations.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Students revealed that this captivating experience bolstered their enjoyment of fiber arts while connecting them with their greater community.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Louise French, Cathie Mayr, Bonnie Buzza, John Christensen, Nancy Gossell, Kathleen Jordan, Madeline Shinbach, Karen Swanton, Sue Bye, Jan Nelson, Kimberly Burnham, Caryn Lantz
Project Overview
Arts Activities Support
Project Details
Funding to support and broaden the organizationÆs education program by collaborating with community partners and developing satellite locations. The program will run from November 2011 though May 2012.
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Weavers Guild of Minnesota
Street Address
3000 University Ave SE Ste 110
Zip Code
(612) 436-0463
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Theresa Downing: independent art curator; Mary Grace Flannery: Arts administrator, Nimbus Theatre; Greg Herriges: Musician, Indian Music Society of Minnesota; Heidi Larson: Minnesota Orchestral Association staff; Abby Marcus: General Manager, Playwrights' Center; Marya Morstad: Arts administrator, Mizna.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Jill Anfang: City of Roseville assistant parks and recreation director; Heather Beal: free-lance architectural writer; Melissa Brechon: retired Carver County Library system director; Kathy Busch: realtor, Shakopee School Board member; Shelly Chamberlain: Minnesota Council of Nonprofits director of operations and human resources; Paul Creager: Gordon Parks High School teacher and administrator, Square Lake Film Festival director; Erika Eklund: Playwrights'Center director of external relations; Joan Elwell: Lakeshore Players Community Theatre Managing Director; Kristi Gaudette: Prior Lake-Savage school district program specialist; Peter Leggett: Walker West Music Academy executive director; Christine Murakami Noonan: Minnesota State Fair Foundation Project Manager; Rachel Smoka-Richardson: Childrens Theatre Company director of institutional giving; Margaret Rog: free-lance grant writer and organizational development consultant; Beth Starbuck: retired consultant; Dameun Strange: free-lance musician and composer; Melissa Wright: William Mitchell College of Law assistant director of Career and Professional Development.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed