Minnesota's Legacy

Arts Activities Support

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2012 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Tapestry Folkdance Center
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
October 2011
End Date
October 2012
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2011, First Special Session, chapter 6, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Cultural Heritage

2012 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

To preserve and grow folk dance tradition in the upper Midwest by engaging youth; to create a fun art event for dancers and audiences.Dancer attendance; tracking whether dancers from campus venues attended regular Tapestry dances; whether Tapestry is able to build and sustain a younger community of dancers as part of their programs.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Increase in younger, college-age dancers participating in Tapestry Folkdance Center events.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Tuvia Abramson, Barbara Beltrand, William Christopfel, Linda Ellinger, Roger Forsberg, Sandy Herzan, Toni Jelinek, Steve Johnson, Theresa Mish, Gordon Olson, Roger Schaffhausen, Morgan Stemberger, John Tallaksen, Ron Williams
Project Overview
Folk dance youth outreach program
Project Details
Funding for a youth outreach project to keep folk dance traditions growing and thriving in the Twin Cities. The project will include six dances on or near several local college campuses beginning in fall 2011.
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Tapestry Folkdance Center
Street Address
3748 Minnehaha Ave S
Zip Code
(612) 722-2914
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Scott Chamberlain: Musician and arts administrator, One Voice Mixed Chorus; Ellen Draeger: Musician and arts administrator, Lutheran Music Program; Jennifer Ilse: Co-artistic director, OffLeash Area dance and theater company; Alecia Leonard: Community education administrator and youth programming specialist; Mike Mason: Ordway Center for the Performing Arts staff; Dawn Ridgway: Dance performer and educator and arts administrator; Becky Ten Brink: Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra staff.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Jill Anfang: City of Roseville assistant parks and recreation director; Heather Beal: free-lance architectural writer; Melissa Brechon: retired Carver County Library system director; Kathy Busch: realtor, Shakopee School Board member; Shelly Chamberlain: Minnesota Council of Nonprofits director of operations and human resources; Paul Creager: Gordon Parks High School teacher and administrator, Square Lake Film Festival director; Erika Eklund: Playwrights'Center director of external relations; Joan Elwell: Lakeshore Players Community Theatre Managing Director; Kristi Gaudette: Prior Lake-Savage school district program specialist; Peter Leggett: Walker West Music Academy executive director; Christine Murakami Noonan: Minnesota State Fair Foundation Project Manager; Rachel Smoka-Richardson: Childrens Theatre Company director of institutional giving; Margaret Rog: free-lance grant writer and organizational development consultant; Beth Starbuck: retired consultant; Dameun Strange: free-lance musician and composer; Melissa Wright: William Mitchell College of Law assistant director of Career and Professional Development.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed