Arts Access

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Bemidji Community Arts Council, Inc. AKA Watermark Art Center
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
In Progress
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2015 Special Session, chapter 2, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

Long-term engagement between Watermark and Native Americans living in, and outside of, the White Earth, Leech Lake, and Red Lake tribal boundaries. Pre- and post-attendance records show increased participation, Photos that document quality of the art experience, Focus group, Final report that summarizes project findings and best practices.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Project Overview
Arts Access
Project Details
Watermark Art Center will foster strategic, long-term engagement with Native American peoples living within, and outside of, the White Earth, Leech Lake, and Red Lake tribal boundaries.
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Bemidji Community Arts Council, Inc. AKA Watermark Art Center
Street Address
505 Bemidji Ave N
Zip Code
(218) 444-7570
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Ardell Brede: Mayor of Rochester, elected 2002.; Peggy Burnet: Businesswoman, art collector, and community volunteer. Member of the Smithsonian National Board. Former chair of the board, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden. Officer at Large, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Uri Camarena: Business consultant, Metropolitan Economic Development Association. Board chair, Minneapolis College of Art and Design.; Michael Charron: Dean of the School of the Arts, Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Rebecca Davis-Lee: Touring pianist, piano and music theory teacher. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Sean Dowse, Former executive director, Sheldon Theatre. Board member for Minnesota Citizens for the Arts. Secretary/Treasurer, Minnesota State Arts Board.; David Glenn: Ceramic artist. former executive director of the Minnesota Project.; Thomas Moss: Consultant to nonprofits and government agencies. Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board; Janice Sivertson: Gallery owner and visual artist; Dobson West: Senior advisor, Spell Capital Partners Fund; Christina Widdess: Arts organization consultant; former managing director, Penumbra Theatre
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Christina Cotruvo: Harpist, certified clinical musician, and nonprofit administrator; Gregory Euclide: Visual artist and teacher; Venessa Fuentes: Program manager, Bush Foundation communications team; Jeanene Gross: Art teacher, Nay Ah Shing schools; Andrew Helbacka-Bennett: Creative director, Zeitgeist Arts; Adaobi Okolue: Executive director and publisher, Twin Cities Media Alliance and Twin Cities Daily Planet; marketing strategist; writer; Summer Scharringhausen: Program manager, MacRostie Art Center; painter and multimedia artist; Alessandra Williams: PhD candidate in culture and performance, researching dance and social justice
Conflict of Interest Disclosed