Arts Access

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2016 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Chamber Music Live
Start Date
August 2016
End Date
August 2016
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Blue Earth
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2015 Special Session, chapter 2, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2016 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

First-time-ever audience members and participants and increasingly larger audience numbers over the course of the festival. Following each concert and masterclass, surveys are administered, measuring demographics, attendance, etc. and audience members are invited to share: How did the music make you feel? By writing on post-its and posting their responses.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Each year we see new audience members, average attendance increase and individual donations increase. We used audience numbers, donations, post-its and comment cards (between 18% and 33% completed for each event).

Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Steve Scheu, Deb Miller, Susan Ferries, Tammy Bartz, David Gustafson
Project Overview
Arts Access
Project Details
Chamber Music Live will collaborate with Minnesota native Garret Ross to present the Apollo Chamber Music Festival consisting of five free concerts and five free master classes in piano, voice, violin, and cello.
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Chamber Music Live
Street Address
314 Erickson St S
Zip Code
(507) 273-1084
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Ardell Brede: Mayor of Rochester, elected 2002.; Peggy Burnet: Businesswoman, art collector, and community volunteer. Chair of the Nominating Committee, Smithsonian National Board. Trustee, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Michael Charron: Dean of the School of the Arts, Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota. Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Rebecca Davis-Lee: Touring pianist, piano and music theory teacher; Wendy Dayton: Arts and community leader and philanthropist.; Sean Dowse, Executive director, Sheldon Theatre. Board member for Minnesota Music Coalition, Minnesota Citizens for the Arts, and Anderson Center for Interdisciplinary Studies, Treasurer, Minnesota State Arts Board.; David Glenn: Executive director of the Minnesota Project, ceramic artist; Thomas Moss: Consultant to nonprofits and government agencies; Janice Sivertson: Gallery owner and visual artist; Dobson West: Private equity manager; board chair, Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Ann Benrud: Director of communications and external relations, Minneapolis College of Art and Design; Christina Chang: Museum curator; doctorate in art history; Kevin Curran: Nonprofit professional in development and grant writing for arts organizations; Mary Flicek: Arts administrator; board member, River Junctions Arts Council; Cheryl Kessler: Founder and principal evaluator, Blue Scarf Consulting, LLC; Patrick Serrano: MS in nonprofit institutions, volunteer grant writer; Dameun Strange: Bush Foundation Community Innovation Team member
Conflict of Interest Disclosed