Arts Access

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2015 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
SteppingStone Theater Company AKA SteppingStone Theatre
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
January 2015
End Date
December 2015
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2013, Chapter 137, Article 4, Section 2, Subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2015 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

SteppingStone will roll out the Welcome Mat for its closest neighbors, many of whom are underserved by the arts, with shared meals and arts programs. Audience totals and surveys will be tools used to confirm numbers of participants, residence within targeted zone, and previous experience with the arts. 2: Barriers to participation are diminished or eliminated with subsidized tickets, free shared meals and summer camp scholarships. Surveys, number of free/reduced lunch participants, audience totals.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Families shared post-show communal meals with artistic staff and actors. 53 youth, identified as challenged by poverty and perceived barriers to inclusion received scholarships for summer camps. SteppingStone Theatre surveyed audience and camp attendees, youth camp participants and reviewed attendance for performances and camps. Participants were surveyed onsite and through electronic surveys. 2: By removing financial concerns, more Minnesota families were able to participate in the arts at SteppingStone Theatre than before. Families were surveyed, asked to fill out a scholarship application, and evaluated against program records.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Brandon Paris. Thomas D'Onofrio, Jane Zilch, David Graham, Rhonda Feist, Theresa Gravelle Foss, Keith Hardy, Leah Harvey, Suzette Huovinen, Laura Krenz, Adam Prock, Ben Redshaw, Matthew Seaton, Mike Erlandson
Project Overview
Arts Access
Project Details
SteppingStone Theatre will connect with neighbors and roll out the welcome mat in this program that provides communal meals and art experiences for children, families, and individuals who live within one mile of its facility
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
SteppingStone Theater Company AKA SteppingStone Theatre
Street Address
55 Victoria St N
St Paul
Zip Code
(651) 225-9265
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Ardell Brede: Mayor of Rochester, elected 2002.; Peggy Burnet: Businesswoman, art collector, and community volunteer. Chair of the Nominating Committee, Smithsonian National Board. Trustee, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Michael Charron: Dean of the School of the Arts, Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota. Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Rebecca Davis-Lee: Touring pianist, piano and music theory teacher; Wendy Dayton: Arts and community leader and philanthropist.; Sean Dowse, Executive director, Sheldon Theatre. Board member for Minnesota Music Coalition, Minnesota Citizens for the Arts, and Anderson Center for Interdisciplinary Studies, Treasurer, Minnesota State Arts Board.; David Glenn: Executive director of the Minnesota Project, ceramic artist; Ellen McInnis: Director of Twin Cities government relations, Wells Fargo. Member of Bottineau Boulevard Partnership. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Thomas Moss: Consultant to nonprofits and government agencies; Janice Sivertson: Gallery owner and visual artist
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Yvonne Cory: Storyteller and textile artist, marketing representative, Faribault County Fair, career and technical instructor, Blue Earth high school; Melissa Cuff: Director of grants and foundation relations for YMCA of the Greater Twin Cities.; Venessa Fuentes: Philanthropy writer at Project for Pride in Living, poet; Sandra Gillespie: Visual artist, online writing instructor, University of Alaska Anchorage, former program director, Alaska State Arts Council; Gabriel Green: Founder and executive director, Wolffe Cultural Center, Duluth, founder and senior pastor, Church of Restoration Twin Ports; Paul Robinson: Senior community leadership consultant for the James P. Shannon Leadership Institute of the Amherst H. Wilder Foundation
Conflict of Interest Disclosed