Arts Access

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2014 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Headwaters School of Music and the Arts
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
January 2014
End Date
December 2014
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2013, Chapter 137, Article 4, Section 2, Subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2014 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

The Tapestry Project will engage chronically, mentally ill adults in a variety of arts programming. The project will be successful when the participants find enjoyment in the art they have created. Additionally, participants will feel comfortable at community exhibits and special events. 2: Provide a welcoming and wholesome atmosphere where participants can feel accepted. Hope House consumers will become engaged in the varied arts programming opportunities and be comfortable in the creation of the art form with individuals they may not have been familiar with prior to the Tapestry Project.

Measurable Outcome(s)

The relationship between the Headwaters School and the Hope House were significantly strengthened. Many artists had no experience with adults who experience chronic mental illness. 2: The teaching artists involved have a warm and welcoming demeanor that allowed the consumers to relax and enjoy the task they were about to be involved in.

Description of Funds
Recipient Board Members
Nicholas Jackson, Al Pederson, Arlys Hall, Linda Sutherland, Mike Moen, Marti Lundin, Carl Johnson, Kelly Jo Schultz
Project Overview
Arts Access
Project Details
The Tapestry Project will weave art experiences into the lives of adults who normally cannot participate because of barriers caused by mental illness, transportation, and poverty.
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Headwaters School of Music and the Arts
Street Address
519 Minnesota Ave NW
Zip Code
(218) 444-5606
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Ardell Brede: Mayor of Rochester, elected 2002.; Peggy Burnet: Businesswoman, art collector, and community volunteer. Chair of the Nominating Committee, Smithsonian National Board. Trustee, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Michael Charron: Dean of the School of the Arts, Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Wendy Dayton: Arts and community leader and philanthopist.; Sean Dowse: Executive director, Sheldon Theatre. Board member for Minnesota Music Coalition, Minnesota Citizens for the Arts, and Anderson Center for Interdisciplinary Studies.; David Glenn, Executive director of the Minnesota Project, ceramic artist; Benjamin Klipfel: Board member, Minnesota State Arts Board. Executive Director, Alexandria Area Arts Association, Inc. Director and arts educator.; Ellen McInnis: Director of Twin Cities government relations, Wells Fargo. Member of Bottineau Boulevard Partnership. Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Thomas Moss: Consultant to nonprofits and government agencies; Janice Sivertson: Gallery owner and visual artist; Anton Treuer: Professor of Ojibwe, Bemidji State University.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Lori Brink: Independent teaching artist in multi-media and visual arts for K-12 and adults; Mary Bromen: Executive Director, Dakota Woodlands Women's and Family Homeless Shelter; Ykatirina Cardenas: Performing artist, theatre arts educator; Elizabeth Larson: Arts administrator, Bach Society of Minnesota; freelance musician; Shakuntala Maheshwari: Folk visual artist and photographer; Jessica Shaykett: Librarian, American Craft Council
Conflict of Interest Disclosed