Arts Access

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2014 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Great River Educational Arts Theatre AKA GREAT Theatre
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
January 2014
End Date
December 2014
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2013, Chapter 137, Article 4, Section 2, Subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2014 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

75 families representing 300 individuals will experience a season of GREAT Theatre with their family. An evaluation team will be hired to create program theory-driven evaluation tools that measure the qualitative and quantitative effectiveness of the program, including pre- and post-surveys, short and long-term outcomes and any mitigating factors.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Our GREAT for All project was a huge success. Over 75 families, including approximately 200 children, were able to experience four on-stage productions.

Description of Funds
Recipient Board Members
Brady Hughs, Joanne Dorsher, Patricia Dorsher, Patrick LaLonde, Steve Palmer, Patricia Thompson, Barbara Carlson, Don Christenson, Monica Segura-Schwartz, Marianne Arnzen, Wendy Hansen, Bonnie Bologna
Project Overview
Arts Access
Project Details
GREAT Theatre will provide access to families at or below the poverty level to a Four Show Season Membership, to build season-long participation for families who would otherwise be unable to experience live theater in greater Saint Cloud.
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Great River Educational Arts Theatre AKA GREAT Theatre
Street Address
919 St Germain St W Ste 3000
St Cloud
Zip Code
(320) 258-2787
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Ardell Brede: Mayor of Rochester, elected 2002.; Peggy Burnet: Businesswoman, art collector, and community volunteer. Chair of the Nominating Committee, Smithsonian National Board. Trustee, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Michael Charron: Dean of the School of the Arts, Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Wendy Dayton: Arts and community leader and philanthopist.; Sean Dowse: Executive director, Sheldon Theatre. Board member for Minnesota Music Coalition, Minnesota Citizens for the Arts, and Anderson Center for Interdisciplinary Studies.; David Glenn, Executive director of the Minnesota Project, ceramic artist; Benjamin Klipfel: Board member, Minnesota State Arts Board. Executive Director, Alexandria Area Arts Association, Inc. Director and arts educator.; Ellen McInnis: Director of Twin Cities government relations, Wells Fargo. Member of Bottineau Boulevard Partnership. Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Thomas Moss: Consultant to nonprofits and government agencies; Janice Sivertson: Gallery owner and visual artist; Anton Treuer: Professor of Ojibwe, Bemidji State University.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Maya Beecham: Executive assistant and creativity director, Youthprise; visual and spoken word artist; freelance writer; Laurel Bradley: Director and curator, Perlman Teaching Museum, Carleton College, Northfield; Gregory Bullard: Independent Management Consultant, Bullseye Services Corp.; Melissa Cuff: Director of grants and foundation relations for YMCA of the Greater Twin Cities.; Joanna Kohler: Filmmaker and Media producer, community storytelling; Sherri Pugh: Retired community economic developer and philanthropy administrator; Minnesota African American Museum volunteer; Paul Robinson: Director, James P. Shannon Leadership Institute, Amherst H. Wilder Foundation, Saint Paul; Jessica Roeder: Writer, poet and teacher
Conflict of Interest Disclosed