Minnesota's Legacy

Artists in Education

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2014 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Kenyon-Wanamingo School District AKA Kenyon-Wanamingo High School
Recipient Type
K-12 Education
Start Date
December 2014
End Date
January 2015
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2013, Chapter 137, Article 4, Section 2, Subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access ACHF Arts Education

2014 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

Students and community will learn more about brass ensemble, and the varied musical repertoire it is capable of presenting. Music parents will see increased value in supporting these type of programs for my students. Enthusiasm will grow for future concerts in Wabasha by chamber music groups.The primary form of evaluation is from myself as band director, my students, and the community members that attend the sessions. Copper Street Brass Quintet uses a written feedback survey that I will give to my students to measure the overall reaction to the program, the best portions, and to solicit ideas for improvement.

Measurable Outcome(s)

I have already observed the ensemble suggestions being implemented in my high school small ensembles. Students were inspired by the music and have shown increased tendencies to practice and progress. This measurable through our scale testing.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Karla Bauer, Greg Dotson, Lisa Johnson, Doug Kyllo, Debb Paquin, Marilyn Syverson, Elise Wrolstad
Project Overview
Artists in Education
Project Details
Brass Day with the Copper Street Brass Quintet
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Kenyon-Wanamingo School District AKA Kenyon-Wanamingo High School
Street Address
400 6th St
Zip Code
(507) 789-7001
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Kjellgren Alkire: art faculty Winona State University; Hal Cropp: Executive Director Commonweal Theatre; Daved Driscoll: Artistic Director Words Players Theatre; Julie Fakler: Edication Coordinator Paradise Center for the Arts; Larry Gorrell: former dean Saint Mary's University; Teresa Kauffmann: public information officer City of Albert Lea; Paula Michel: Secretary Harmony Arts Board; Jane Olive: Mantorville Theatre Company; Scott Roberts: visual artist; Judy Saye-Willis: fiber artist; Steve Schmidt: General Manager City of Rochester Music Department.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Judy Hickey: Board Children's Dance Theatre; Bill Hoy: playwright, songwriter; David Kassler: musician; Kathy Rush: Lockwood Theatre Company; Joan Sween: novelist columnist, playwright; Phil Taylor: visual artist; Sandy Thompson: Development Director Rochester Art Center; Gary Tollers: musician; Emily Urness: columnist, literary editor Rochester Post Bulletin; Tom Willis: visual artist.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed