Minnesota's Legacy

Artists in Education

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2014 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Winona Area Public Schools AKA Winona Senior High School
Recipient Type
K-12 Education
Start Date
September 2013
End Date
May 2014
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2013, Chapter 137, Article 4, Section 2, Subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access ACHF Arts Education ACHF Cultural Heritage

2014 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

During the 2013-2014 school year, Jill Krase will share her expertise in bookmaking with approximately 45 high school students. The majority of the participants will report learning new skills and techniques. The majority of students will recommend Ms. Krase be invited to more artist residencies.Each participant in the residency will complete a survey listing skills, techniques, and vocabulary the student learned in the residency. Students will also rank the artist and the experience using a rating scale.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Our goal was for 45 students to create books. 18 created flagbooks and an additional 38 created box books and hexagon books for a total of 56 students. The majority ranked their experience with Ms. Krase as a 9-10 or excellent.

Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Ben Baratto, Mohamed Elhindi, Jay Kohner, Tina Lehnertz, Jeanne Nelson, Steve Schild, Brian Zeller
Project Overview
Artists in Education
Project Details
Book making residency with artist Jill Krase
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Winona Area Public Schools
Street Address
903 Gilmore Ave
Zip Code
(507) 494-0861
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Hal Cropp: Executive Director of Commonweal Theatre Company; Daved Driscoll: artistic director Northland Words-Words Players Theatre; Drue Fergison: musicologist with dance, literary expertise; Teresa Kauffmann: photographer, public information officer City of Albert Lea; Paula Michel: secretary Harmony Arts Board; Connie Nelson: retired choral music educator; Scott Roberts: visual artist, former business director Owatonna Arts Center; Judy Saye-Willis: visual artist, former director Faribault Art Center; Steven Schmidt: musician, general manager City of Rochester Music Department; Deb Wasmund: visual artist, coordinator Red Wing Fall Festival of the Arts.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Scott Anderson: musician; Liz Bucheit: owner/artist Crown Trout Jewelers; Alan Calavano: Rochester Male Chorus; Judy Hickey: Children's Dance Theatre; William Hoy: playwright, songwriter; Katie Hae Leo: Minnesota State Arts Board Cultural Community Liaison; Kathy Rush: Lockwood Theatre Company; Phil Taylor: visual artist; Tom Willis: visual artist.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed