Minnesota's Legacy

Artists in Education

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2014 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Dover-Eyota Public Schools
Recipient Type
K-12 Education
Start Date
September 2013
End Date
March 2014
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2013, Chapter 137, Article 4, Section 2, Subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access ACHF Arts Education ACHF Cultural Heritage

2014 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

Students/community will learn more about brass ensemble and the varied musical repertoire it is capable of presenting. Music parents will see increased value in supporting such programs. Enthusiasm for concerts will grow. Student/faculty/community feedback and data collected in future concerts.Primarily a written band director and student feedback survey to measure overall reaction to the program, best portions, and to solicit ideas for improvement. The Copper Street Brass Quintet invites conversation from the students after class. All portions of the residency are recorded to use in reflection and evaluation.

Measurable Outcome(s)

They were inspired! Students loved the Copper Street Brass Quintet.

Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Don Andring, Julie Austinson, Hannah Brown, Bruce Klaehn, Gene Loftus, Dan Johnson, Ron Pagel, Todd Peterson, Molly Rieke
Project Overview
Artists in Education
Project Details
Brass Day with the Copper Street Brass Quintet
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Dover-Eyota Public Schools
Street Address
615 South Ave SW
Zip Code
(507) 545-2631
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Hal Cropp: Executive Director of Commonweal Theatre Company; Daved Driscoll: artistic director Northland Words-Words Players Theatre; Drue Fergison: musicologist with dance, literary expertise; Teresa Kauffmann: photographer, public information officer City of Albert Lea; Paula Michel: secretary Harmony Arts Board; Connie Nelson: retired choral music educator; Scott Roberts: visual artist, former business director Owatonna Arts Center; Judy Saye-Willis: visual artist, former director Faribault Art Center; Steven Schmidt: musician, general manager City of Rochester Music Department; Deb Wasmund: visual artist, coordinator Red Wing Fall Festival of the Arts.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Scott Anderson: musician; Liz Bucheit: owner/artist Crown Trout Jewelers; Alan Calavano: Rochester Male Chorus; Judy Hickey: Children's Dance Theatre; William Hoy: playwright, songwriter; Katie Hae Leo: Minnesota State Arts Board Cultural Community Liaison; Kathy Rush: Lockwood Theatre Company; Phil Taylor: visual artist; Tom Willis: visual artist.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed