Artists in Education

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2014 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Austin Public Schools
Recipient Type
K-12 Education
Start Date
October 2013
End Date
January 2014
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2013, Chapter 137, Article 4, Section 2, Subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access ACHF Arts Education ACHF Cultural Heritage

2014 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

We expect attendance of nearly 400. There are barriers to jazz in Mower County, so we set affordable ticket prices and program a wide variety of musical styles. As jazz itself is a blend of musical/cultural traditions, we hope to build new relationships with groups traditionally underserved by the arts.We can easily evaluate the success of our attendance and budget goals through paid gate receipts. To judge the educational and cultural experience, we will provide paper surveys and reflection sheets for students in the residencies and a link printed in the program to an online survey for patrons.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Our single greatest goal was to meet or exceed our predicted attendance at the public concert. We were successful in this regard. This was an extremely valuable experience for all students.

Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Don Fox, Angie Goetz, Kathy Green, Mary Jane Kestner, Greg Larson, Don Leathers, Richard Lees
Project Overview
Artists in Education
Project Details
Kenni Holmen at Paramount Jazz
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Austin Public Schools
Street Address
301 3rd Ave NW
Zip Code
(507) 460-1800
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Hal Cropp: Executive Director of Commonweal Theatre Company; Daved Driscoll: artistic director Northland Words-Words Players Theatre; Drue Fergison: musicologist with dance, literary expertise; Teresa Kauffmann: photographer, public information officer City of Albert Lea; Paula Michel: secretary Harmony Arts Board; Connie Nelson: retired choral music educator; Scott Roberts: visual artist, former business director Owatonna Arts Center; Judy Saye-Willis: visual artist, former director Faribault Art Center; Steven Schmidt: musician, general manager City of Rochester Music Department; Deb Wasmund: visual artist, coordinator Red Wing Fall Festival of the Arts.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Scott Anderson: musician; Liz Bucheit: owner/artist Crown Trout Jewelers; Alan Calavano: Rochester Male Chorus; Judy Hickey: Children's Dance Theatre; William Hoy: playwright, songwriter; Katie Hae Leo: Minnesota State Arts Board Cultural Community Liaison; Kathy Rush: Lockwood Theatre Company; Phil Taylor: visual artist; Tom Willis: visual artist.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed